top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #101: The Gospel According to André and Vegan Chili Cheese Popcorn

We both reference the particularly disappointing framework of the film (for the 101st time, we do not consult during or after the movie) and proclaim "I can't believe it's not vegetarian!".

Vegan Chili Cheese Popcorn

Dave: It’s sad that this documentary has the 2016 election as backstory. Otherwise it’s such a lovely story of grit, determination, and chiffon, of the immense cultural debt we all owe to the rural black south, and an extraordinary larger-than-life personality. While I’m sure there’s much about A.L.T.’s life that’s not discussed here, this was worth the watch for the amazing clothes, the numerous celebrity cameos, the impeccable interior design of André’s homes, and the look inside the Condé Nast and Fashion Institute archives (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


I am a skeptic of any vegan recipe whose title contains “cheese.” But, as we’re playing a very protracted game of Iron Chef to avoid going to the grocery store, here we are: making a chili cheese popcorn recipe that contains nutritional yeast (don’t ask why we had that handy in the house during a pandemic; I’ve absolutely no idea). And, frankly, it was delicious, especially for a “dump some stuff over popcorn” style recipe. I may order more nutritional yeast at our next grocery pick up just to make this again! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: It's not a secret that I went through a major Fashion Phase in my early thirties. I couldn't afford high fashion nor did I dress particularly fashionably, but I loved fashion magazines and had subscriptions to many of the big publications. My very favorite was Vogue (of course) - mostly because each issue was 75% chic advertisements and 25% dreamy fantasies. I loved the 2009 documentary The September Issue (so much dramz!) and was hoping for similar in André. But this film is a different beast altogether: it's thoughtful and contemplative, exploring identity and race within the fashion industry and shying away from exploitation. But it's also less interesting because of its lack of histrionics and it verges on a little hackneyed, using the 2016 election as some pivotal turning point in Talley's life that's never really unpacked or even contextualized. Overall, it's a fine diversion, but I look forward to reading André Talley's memoir The Chiffon Trenches for maximum dishing. (⭐️⭐1/2)


Because I'm a bit of a control freak, I always become a bit skeptical when Dave tells me that he's deviated from our traditional sources of popcorn inspiration. Friends, it's nights like this that I kick myself for being so rigid. About halfway through this batch, I briefly considered asking this popcorn to become a thruple with me and Dave. It's spicy and garlicky and cheesy-even-though-there's-no-cheese. Robert Smith said it best: "Just like heaven." (⭐️⭐️⭐⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: The dark web? IDK.



45 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page