top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #108: Shirley and Blazing Buffalo Ranch Spice Mix

Elisabeth Moth delivers one of the best performances of the year and a popcorn raises questions about my ability in the kitchen.

Blazing Buffalo Ranch Spice Mix

Dave: I could do without the overwrought bit of allegory in the plot, but Elisabeth Moss saved this movie. Every single facial expression, turn of phrase, and glance was full of emotion - pain, sadness, wit, mirth. The movie was also, oddly, a reminder of why I value the creative people in my life and my work. Their insight, quirks, and odd ways of looking at the world are invigorating and helpful, particularly in times like these. That said, I still don’t buy into the “creative people have license to be jerks” storyline. Also, what was with 1960s English professors and their odd and patronizing use of the culture of black and poor people as fodder to keep their jobs? Anyway, like many of the reviews said, if you watch Shirley, you’ll forget nearly everything except for Elisabeth Moss’s masterful performance. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I’m not even sure what this popcorn was called - maybe salty popcorn with a vague hint of something you probably won’t be able to name? Still, as most of my friends (and certainly my general practitioner) will attest, I will gladly eat anything that is salty enough. And with both ranch dressing mix and (I assume) several handfuls of just plain salt, this fit the bill. I did miss the butter/oil/fat a bit, but this was still pretty satisfying. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Shirley Jackson is a legend, and after seeing this film, I'd venture to say that Elisabeth Moss is also a legend. Frankly, I would've watched Moss-as-Jackson eat a stack of pancakes for 100 minutes. Moss doesn't act in this film as much as she inhabits it - every scene, ever scant look, every wordless interaction. There's a moment at the end of the film, a steady camera shot that just tracks a motionless Moss for a solid 90 seconds. The only thing that moves are her eyes. It is chillingly effective. The film itself is beautifully surreal and hypnotic, blurring the lines between reality and imagination - like no biopic I've ever seen. But Moss. Jesus Christ. Watch it just to see her act the ever-loving shit out of every moment on camera.(⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I misunderstood this recipe, and it wasn't because I had already had 2.5 servings of the "Frosé" Dave made. Every recipe we've used from our beloved Popcorn Board has been a legitimate "meal" - that is, it's something that's immediately mixed with the popcorn - like a sauce and baked or something. It wasn't until I had second-guessed myself and fouled up my first attempt that I realized this recipe wasn't a "serve immediately" but rather a sprinkle you make and store for future use. Here's what happened: the recipe called for a 1/4 teaspoon of oil to be folded into the spice mix, which I did. This didn't produce a sauce, so I thought, "Hm. That's a typo. I bet they meant 1/4 cup because 1/4 teaspoon does not a sauce make." This was ill-advised. What I had now was a gloopy glop of paste. So I thought, "I'll just melt some butter and whip this in and drizzle it over the popcorn like most recipes call for.." That was also a bad idea. I then looked at what the recipe was called again. "Mix? That's weird. Goddamn it." I had to start again, but this time while I was pissed. So I just eyeballed the ingredients for my second batch, which yielded an inferior sprinkle. But I served it anyway. Because pride. (⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn.org



41 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page