top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #111: Ready or Not and Cheesy Ranch Popcorn Party Mix

Gore and salt. That is all.

Cheesy Ranch Popcorn Party Mix

Dave: I think whoever made this movie saw Jordan Peele’s Get Out and thought: “Hey, you know what would be good? Let’s make another movie with the same plot, but let's cut out all of the social commentary, and have a cast of all white people! I’m sure it will be just as good.” And okay, sure, there are some great scares and some completely ludicrous death scenes. But the plot was tired and, despite the plucky main character, nothing else felt fresh, original, or exciting. I was quite glad to see (almost) everyone die at the end, if only so the plot would wind down to its inevitable conclusion. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


I’m sure I’ve written here about my deep and abiding love for all things salty. So I didn’t think I’d find a popcorn that was too salty for me, but between the (Kroger brand) Cheez-Its, the pretzels, and the ranch dressing mix, I may have met my match. It was definitely addictive, but as I kept eating, I felt worse and worse about myself. But yet, I wanted to keep eating. We didn’t quite finish the bowl (though I may have gone back for an after-movie snack just before I wrote this review), but I don’t think I’d go out of my way to make this again. We’ve had several other ranch-flavored popcorns and they’ve mostly been far better than this one. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: We were originally going to watch T-Swizzle's Miss Americana documentary to celebrate the surprise drop of her new record, folklore, but my friend Amy texted me last name with rave reviews of this flick. Ready or Not has been on my radar, and Amy has impeccable taste, so I switched it up. Like last week's movie, Snatchers, this one's billed as a horror-comedy, but unlike Snatchers, this one leans much more heavily into the horror aspect and is deeply, deeply sardonic. The deaths are so shocking that it's hard not to laugh and cower at the same time. If anything, this is a thrilling, tense cat & mouse game with Samara Weaving's formidable skills at the forefront. She carries most of the film, and proves that she is Jamie Lee Curtis-levels of a scream queen. Delightfully dark, graphically violent, and a whole lot of fun. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


When we first started dating, Dave made this snack called Knock-Up Crackers. They're crazy delicious and hard to stop eating once your start. This is a similar concoction, rich in oil and ranch seasoning and delicious snack foods that aren't particularly good for you. Suffice to say, I couldn't stop shoveling handfuls of this salty concoction in my gob. I ate way more than any body should be able to do, and I'm kind of regretting it now. I will most certainly be craving more tomorrow. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Party Popcorn by Ashton Epps Swank. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).



46 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page