top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #14: Hurricane Bianca & Chorizo-Manchego Popcorn

Updated: Feb 23, 2019

Bianca Del Rio proves that she can't carry a feature film, and we prove that sausage on popcorn works neither on paper nor in practice.

Chorizo-Manchego Popcorn

Dave: Hurricane Bianca is what would happen if the cast and producers at RuPaul's Drag Race tried to film an after school special. It ends up being earnest and taking itself way too seriously, so all the camp can't be irreverent and over-the-top enough to save it from its own weird, preachy, Hands Across America undertone. The scenes where Bianca did her withering insult comic bits to her high school classes were great, but too few and far between. Do we really need a "even a drag queen can teach science and bring a town together" film in 2017? (⭐️⭐️)

Chorizo-Manchego popcorn will probably give you heartburn. And it's not quite good enough to make up for it. This isn't to say it's bad: it's slightly spicy and cheesy and inoffensive. But if I'm going to have heartburn, I want whatever I ate to really make it worth it, know what I mean? (⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: Look. No one's going to go into this movie expecting a work of art. The production value is fairly high and the acting isn't half bad, but I'm a little disappointed. We saw Bianca's live show, Not Tonight, Satan, back in October. It was side-splitting. This wasn't. It was a little cheesy, and the revenge plot could've been more satisfyingly bitchy. But it's Bianca, so it's not totally unwatchable... just not something I'd watch again without a lot of booze. (⭐️⭐️)

On our first Nerdery movie night, I made pepperoni pizza popcorn. It was delicious in a holy-shit-my-arteries-are-about-to-explode way. This is the more grown-up version. It's a little more subtle, even when you realize you're picking up little sausage nuggets and stuffing them in your mouth. Whereas I felt like I was going to pass out from the fat in the pepperoni pizza popcorn, I really only feel like I want to take a nap after eating the Chorizo-Manchego. But that's probably because it's half past eight on a Friday night and I'm legit tired. (⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2)


0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page