top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #166: Into the Woods (American Playhouse) and Caesar Popcorn

Updated: Dec 17, 2021

Showtunes! Sondheim! Caesar Salad! On popcorn!

Caesar Popcorn

Dave: I should have known better than to pick a musical with catchy tunes for our Friday movie this week. I’ll have to deal with Joe belting out “Into the Woods!” randomly while he’s brushing his teeth or washing dishes for the next several weeks. Still, it was nice to revisit this show that I haven’t seen in its entirety in about 20 years. It’s worth it, though - the unsettled, uncertain nature of wish fulfillment and right and wrong feel oddly prescient. It does seem that Bernadette Peters was just given stage directions like “go out there and flounce around in your cape!” for most of the show, but she’s still lovely to watch and listen to. I’m glad I spend the 2.5 hours with the movie this week, but it might be another 20 years before I get around to it again. (️️️️⭐⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


We’ve had Caesar popcorn before, but there were actual anchovies in it and it tasted like dead fish. Anchovies aren’t bad in most other things, but fishy popcorn is absolutely revolting. Thank goodness Kirk Castle left the fish out of this Caesar popcorn, making it a nice, lemony, salty snack. Granted, perhaps I loved it so much because Joe grated an extra half cup of Parmesan to dump on the top of the popcorn. No matter, dear reader, it was still delicious. (️️️️⭐⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Historically, I've not been a very good Broadway Gay™. For the longest time, I insisted I didn't like musicals. I'm starting to realize, though, that I was merely fooling myself. A vain attempt to remain... I don't know... edgy? Counter-culture? Hip? Whatever. I was being lame. Into the Woods hit all the right chords with me: stories from the oral tradition (albeit quite Eurocentric), great songs, and superb acting. If anything, watching this production made me admire the art of stage acting even more. In a film, an actor can do repeated takes. On a stage, they have to nail it every night for months on end. This taping of a 1991 performance is fabulous. The cast gives it all, and the songs are still knocking around in my head. Also Joanna Gleason, Bernadette Peters, and Danielle Ferland were divine. ¡Brava! (⭐⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


If I recall correctly, we tried a "Caesar salad" popcorn early on in this journey of ours. That recipe was from the Food Network, and I don't believe we were particularly fond of it. But our boy "Kirk Castle" doesn't let us down with this recipe. While mixing the ingredients, I thought, "Gee, there's not a lot going into this sauce. I don't think it's going to work." But the zest of lemon balances the pinch of garlic, and perfectly mimics the brightness of a good Caesar dressing. I should have known that it would all come together, because "Kirk Castle" is a genius. All hail the Kirk. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: 100 Popcorn Recipes by "Kirk Castle"



44 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page