top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #167: The Unforgivable and Dill Pickle Popcorn

Sandra Bullock proves she can be Miss Incongeniality while Trisha Yearwood proves she's never eaten a dill pickle.

Dill Pickle Popcorn

Dave: Miss Congeniality this ain't - it's a dismal, grey slog through some really tough emotional territory about a woman searching for her younger sister after a long stint in jail. But there is a "don't mess with me, I'm a badass with a heart of gold" vibe to Sandra Bullock's characters in both this and Miss Congeniality. Her performance - mostly understated, like someone coming out of an emotional coma - perked up the maudlin plot when it could have easily veered into Lifetime movie territory. The golden-hued flashback sequences with Bullock and her sister were all a bit too long, and the buttoned-up, slightly dysfunctional adoptive parents felt like a Twilight Zone version of the mom and dad from Home Alone, Those little problems aside, this was a really affecting film, and a great pick if you just need a good cry. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


It might not be a surprise, but Trisha Yearwood is no popcorn expert. Or maybe she's just never had a dill pickle. There's also a chance she dips her dill pickles in french onion dip. At any rate, this popcorn does not taste like dill pickles at all. It does, however, taste like one of my favorite party foods called Knock Up Crackers, in which you soak a bunch of oyster crackers in ranch dressing, dill, and a whole bunch of oil. Trisha, being a calorie-conscious lady, only suggests you spray the popcorn with cooking spray rather than douse it in oil. Lovely. Then you dump fistfuls of crushed sour cream and onion crackers on it, along with a bit of dill and garlic powder. So really, you're mostly just eating big handfuls of crushed-up chips with extra seasoning with a bit of popcorn to keep things interesting. Still, it was delicious and, as usual, I think I might have eaten far more than my fair share. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: I didn't look at the reviews before selecting this movie; I based my choice solely on Sandra Bullock's ragged-ass face on my Netflix screen. Frankly, I'm glad I didn't pay attention to the critical reviews - they missed the mark in their hoity-toity assessment of the flick. Is it high art? No. Is the acting incredible? Yes. Especially Sandra Bullock. Is the film innovative? Not even remotely. Is it compelling? I'll say. There's some ham-handed scriptwriting on glorious display here: every plot point, with the exception of The Big Twist, is transmitted from a mile away. Yet the whole package is still enjoyable to watch, primarily because Bullock is so unbelievably brilliant. Her performance is steeped in pathos/ The Big Twist is kinda insane, but it really didn't prevent me from being riveted to the screen. Strong direction, solid acting, meh script. All in all, not bad. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Me, every other bite: "What's this popcorn called?" Dave: "Dill pickle." Folks, this isn't dill pickle. It's garlic. And the garlic is tossed with sour cream & chives potato chips and more garlic. Did I taste the popcorn? I did not. Did I taste the dill? I did not. But the garlic? Yes. So much so that I'm worried Dave will never kiss me again. Even though this popcorn is a misnomer, it was still pretty tasty. Just really, really garlicky. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Trisha Yearwood



34 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page