top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #19: The Boy & Gruyere-Porcini Popcorn

Do pulverized dried mushrooms mix with dolls-that-come-to-life?

Gruyere Porcini Popcorn

Dave: This movie made me want to get rid of all my stuffed animals, just in case they are going to start demanding breakfast, poetry lessons, and goodnight kisses. The acting was wooden, the plot was fast paced (if predictable) and the characters were as thoughtfully rendered as Donald Trump's foreign policy (i.e. they were laughable). In short it was a pretty good B horror flick, with a shower scene, a romance, and plenty of hide-your-eyes suspense. Not great art, perhaps, but fun, campy, and spooky. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

I made this popcorn on a whim because I stopped by the Rich White Lady Grocery Store on the way home and thought: "I bet they have dried porcini mushrooms." I wasn't too jazzed about the idea of putting powdered mushrooms on popcorn, but it was surprisingly good!! Especially since it snowed today, the earthy, smoky mushrooms were seasonally appropriate - and I'm a fool for gruyere. I think the gruyere toast on top is the main reason I love to make French onion soup. So, yes, delicious. Definitely in the "make again" pile. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Joe: The first hour of the movie is superb in its tension-building, even though there are a handful of eye-rolling moments. The twist, when it comes, manages to be both deeply satisfying and unsatisfying. Is it too much to ask for a Hollywood ghost story to have an explanation that's plausible and terrifying? I don't know. And neither does The Boy. Still, it's compulsively watchable. (⭐️⭐️1/2)

I would and could eat a troth of this popcorn. I would eat a troth of it and I would feel no guilt. I would eat a troth of this popcorn, spend .15 seconds digesting, and then move on to a second troth. I would have no shame, and I would dare anyone to question my actions. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page