top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #195: Christmas in Connecticut and Mozzarella Stick Popcorn

Proof that Connecticut is a haven for WASPs and that a batshit idea can actually work in one's favor.

Mozzarella Stick Popcorn

Dave: When I picked a movie about the author of a magazine column for housewives who pretends to live on a farm and can’t cook to save her life, I imagined there would be more how-does-this-stove-work? hijinks and cow-milking ridiculousness. Instead, we got approximately 15 half-baked plots. The dizzying mix of fake marriage, real courtship, baby-stealing (our niece would be *so* excited), and farmhouse architecture was a bit much. As in most of these films, very little makes sense and the scenes that were supposed to be sweet and endearing come off as completely and utterly non-consensual 70 years later. Still, it had all the makings of a Christmas movie: mistaken identities, major plot points that are almost given away about a dozen times, cute animals, and the magic of Christmas making two attractive people fall in love. If you’re really intrigued, though, wait until next Christmas and put it on while you’re wrapping gifts. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐)


Scene: Joe and Dave trying not to freeze to death in -30 windchill, making plans for the Nerdery Movie Night before Christmas Eve.

Joe: I have an idea for my popcorn!

Dave: That’s great!

Joe: We do have breadcrumbs somewhere, right?

Dave: …

I was wrong to doubt Joe’s popcorn abilities in that moment, readers. This was definitively mozzarella stick popcorn and didn’t have the sawdust-like taste that breadcrumbs could have imparted to the final product. This is certainly going in our cookbook, if we ever get around to writing it! (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐⭐️1/2)


Joe: One of my favorite types of movies is the "ruse as plot point" trope. Any film where a person or a group of people attempts to deceive other(s) is right up my alley. In my mid-20s, I couldn't get enough of con artist films, and I still love a good grifter story. Christmas in Connecticut falls into this category, although its sheer audacity and goofiness keep it from being anything more than a brainless popcorn flick. Barbara Stanwyck competes directly with her hairstyle as the most idiotic thing Connecticut has ever seen, but it's Uncle Fritz's inane antics and the sheer hotness of Dennis Morgan that save this from being unbearable pabulum. (⭐️⭐️⭐)


Dave is the chef in this family. He has a knack for flavor combinations and an unimpeachably perfect instinct for balance. When the idea for this popcorn popped into my head, I laughed. It seemed like a totally insane idea, but I couldn't rid myself of it. As I pulled the ingredients from the cupboards, I started to gain confidence. Could this work?The moment I popped a handful in my mouth, though, my brain kinda slipped into a tailspin. I nailed the flavor. Absolutely nailed it. Readers, is it too boastful to award myself (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)? Too late. I did it.


Popcorn recipe from: Joe Prince 💅



63 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page