top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #20: How to Survive a Plague & Barbecue Popcorn

A documentary that punches us in the gut and a popcorn that does the same, just in a different way.

Barbecue Popcorn

We're baaaaaaaaaack! Sorry for the delay. Wedding planning, family visiting, nephew birthdaying, and bachelor partying all got in the way of our time honored tradition. We made this week work, though, and boy what a doozy! Dave: So it's a movie about HIV. You know going into it people are going to die. While I wrote my dissertation, I read heartbreaking accounts of the early epidemic and the political, social and medical difficulties PLWAs faced. But there's something about hearing voices, seeing faces, watching stories unfold that makes this documentary so much more powerful than those accounts. Watching a group of people, who were still being denounced as perverts in polite company and on the Senate floor, advocate and fight for their right to responsive, affordable, accessible healthcare has sad resonance today. And that's even before you factor in HIV being a pre-existing condition that could make health insurance unaffordable under the new Republican plan. As sad as it is, this movie is hopeful: an organized, community-driven group of people really can create lasting and life-saving change. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

This popcorn felt more appropriate for a sports bar or a picnic than a movie about AIDS deaths, but it was still delicious. Salty, sweet, and with a bit of a kick, it's a recipe I'd definitely make again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: This wasn't an easy documentary to watch, and we made it a solid 80 minutes before we had to pause it and compose ourselves. The relevance of this film, though, is even more timely than it's ever been, especially with the current presidential administration. My people are strong and resilient and I am proud of the brave men and women who came before me to fight for LGBTQ health rights. I'm grateful this movie was made in their honor, and will watch it whenever I need to feel the fighting spirit in me - even if I have to pause it every twenty minutes to take a breather. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Despite it having lots of heat in it (cayenne and cumin and paprika and chili powder), it tasted oddly sweet to me. Maybe it was the brand of potato chips or the barbecue sauce that sweetened it, but it wasn't as robust as I was expecting. Still, I housed the bowl. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page