top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #205: Spin Me Round and Tuscan Sunset Popcorn

Under the Tuscan WTF

Tuscan Sunset Popcorn

Dave: It feels good to be back even if I’m not sure what in the h-e-double-hockey-sticks I just watched. Is it a mystery? A thriller? A modern romance? No one knows, including the writer and director! Aubrey Plaza and Molly Shannon were hilarious, as always, but the film flounders otherwise. Alison Brie plays the main character - a manager at an Olive Garden knock-off who is whisked away to Italy to meet with top chefs - a bit too innocent and above-the-fray. The absolute ridiculousness of the movie’s conclusion appears suddenly and bizarrely, even if the script has been forecasting it since the opening scenes. Was Spin Me Round fun? Yes. Would I watch it a second time? Probably not. (⭐️⭐️1/2)


We didn’t compare movie and popcorn pics, but the Tuscan theme of this popcorn was entirely appropriate, given the Olive Garden theme of the movie. However, the popcorn outshined the movie. Butter and salt were the stars, with a strong supporting cast of whatever is in Penzey’s Tuscan spice blend. Really, I think we could dump anything Penzey’s on popcorn and it would turn out to be delicious. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I'd never heard of this movie, but when the Duplass Brothers' names appeared on the title card, I knew why. The duo were purveyors of indie "mumblecore", and I went through a brief period in the late aughts/early teens of watching and being consistently underwhelmed by their films (with the exception of Safety Not Guaranteed, which I quite liked, probably because of Aubrey Plaza). Not much has changed since then. The storyline is proudly weird, populated with unbelievable situations and characters. There are moments of hilarity, but they're mostly overwhelmed by ding-dong plot points. Through it all, Alison Brie pretty much apes Kristin Wiig, copping both her comedic facial expressions and caricature mannerisms. I'm not disappointed that we watched it insofar that it's neither great nor shitty. Your mileage may vary. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


We've moved on to concocting our own popcorns, and I have taken the lazy course of action by tossing popcorn with Penzey's spice blends, butter, and salt. With our last Penzey's order, we received a sample pack of their Tuscan Sunset blend, so that's what I decided to use. I honestly I had no idea that Dave picked a movie that took place in Italy, so a wonderful synergy underpinned the pairing. Like most of their blends, Tuscan Sunset is well-balanced, but not all the herbs shone when paired with popcorn. Mostly the garlic overpowered everything. Still, when have I ever complained about garlic, even if my pores will be reeking the shit for days. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Joe Prince 💅🏻


Spin Me Round on IMDB.


59 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page