top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #21: 10 Cloverfield Lane & Ranch Popcorn

Can John Goodman be scary? Can ranch ruin a good thing?

Ranch Popcorn

Dave: John Goodman and the rest of the cast were pretty brilliant, and I appreciated the surprise twist ending. But they just tried to stuff too much movie into this: there was a jilted lover backstory, a bunker life sequence, and then the ending that seemed to beg for a sequel. It felt disjointed and unfulfilling - they could've hacked off the last 20 mins and had a perfectly fine and disturbing film (⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2)

I lived in East Tennessee where people generally have an odd obsession with ranch dressing on everything: salads, fries, burgers, hell, maybe even donuts. I still don't get it. This popcorn was okay, a bit bland and oddly vinegary, even if there was no vinegar in it. But I'd only make it again if I had some ranch dressing mix lying around. And let's be honest, if I had ranch mix lying around, I'd make Knock-up Crackers, with oyster crackers, Wesson oil, dill, garlic, the mix, and Tabasco. Google it and make it for your next party. (⭐️⭐️1/2)

Joe: Tense, scary, and satisfying (despite the somewhat ridiculous ending), this film is elevated by some fairly solid twists combined with powerhouse performances, especially from John Goodman. I am rarely happy with sci-if/horror films, but this one manages to hit all the sweet spots. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

My friend Stephanie loves ranch. She loved it before it became a pop culture staple. To me, though, ranch has always been an acceptable substitute for far better flavors. Based on that belief alone, the ranch popcorn fulfilled my expectations. It wasn't mind-blowing and it wasn't disappointing. It was ranch. With a weird acidic aftertaste. I still ate the entire bowl in about 10 minutes while Dave looked on in abject horror. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page