top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #215: Quiz Lady & Honey Mustard Potato Chip Popcorn Explosion

My DIY honey mustard could be a biological weapon of mass destruction.

Honey Mustard Potato Chip Popcorn Explosion

Dave: For a ridiculous movie with a paper-thin plot, Quiz Lady had a lot of heart and a bevy of amazing guest stars. I got a bit misty at the dogs-and-siblings-forever ending and loved the cameos by Paul Reubens, Tony Hale (Buster from Arrested Development), and the incomparable Maria Bamford. Sandra Oh brought some gravitas to a quirky character who would have been wallpaper in the hands of a lesser actor, and Awkwafina held her own opposite Oh as the geeky, sheltered younger sister/quiz show champion. If you watch the movie, forgive the pat ending and stay for the “where are they now?” bits - they’re hilarious! (️️️️⭐️⭐⭐️⭐)


Readers, I’ve been trying to think of a good mustard gas joke after eating this popcorn, and I haven’t been able to come up with one. But the honey-mustard popcorn was over-the-top spicy, even for me. And I’ve loved spicy mustards since I was a kid, and have a ready supply of hot sauces in the fridge. At first I was disappointed when I saw that Joe left a half-cup of his mustard drizzle off of the finished product. I took the fork out of the bowl to taste it, and put the sauce directly in my mouth while Joe's eyes got big and he said something like “no, no, no, no!” Readers, I think the intense mustardy heat made my hearing lapse for a bit because I have no memory of what he said afterwards. It was hot, even cut with the potato chips that he added to the mix. But did we eat the entire thing? Yes, we did. (️️️⭐️⭐⭐️)


Joe: Honest to god, Sandra Oh & Awkwafina could be cast as lampposts in a movie, and I'd both a.) watch it and b.) rave about it. I'm happy to report that, although slightly uneven, Quiz Lady is sheer joy to watch, if only because Oh & Awkwafina play against their standard roles and relish in doing so. Oh hams it up as the carefree older sister, and Awkwafina burrows into her role as a wallflower nerd. The movie never takes itself too seriously, which makes the truly absurd sequences feel less forced and allows the slightly mawkish ending to feel well-earned. Also, Paul Reubens. 😭 (⭐️⭐⭐⭐️)


I was going to make a recipe from the Popcorn Board's website tonight. I even spent an hour* at the goddamned grocery store hunting down the ingredients. Whilst prepping, though, I discovered that we had no sesame seeds even though we're usually very good at keeping up with our Penzey's spices. I cursed. Dave consoled me. I abandoned my original plan, and decided to try my hand at making a homemade honey mustard with some mustard powder we had in the spice rack... only to discover we had no distilled white vinegar. Dave had taken it to work to de-scale a coffee machine and hadn't brought it back. I cursed. Dave tried to console me. I wouldn't let him. Now I was pissed. I used white wine vinegar instead, and it all went downhill from there. Gobs of honey (like, almost half our reserve) couldn't save the potency of the mustard-powder abomination I created. I doubled down and went to extremes to temper the spice, adding crushed potato chips to the popcorn, which I thought might soak up some of the spice. It didn't. Somehow, though, it was all edible in the end. But edible doesn't translate to "will make again". Because I will not make this again. (⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Joe's brain (💅🏻/😖)


Quiz Lady on IMDB.


* I am not an efficient grocery shopper to begin with, and am even worse when I feel I'm under a time crunch



39 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page