top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #228: The Greatest Night in Pop & Dirty Martini Popcorn

We're back! Did you miss us? OF COURSE YOU DID.

Dirty Martini Popcorn

Dave: As someone who studies music and global health, I intellectually understand that "We Are the World" is schlocky and the documentary is a bit self-congratulatory. But the documentary does a great job of centering you on the momentous feat of getting 40-some pop stars in the same room, and then getting 40-some pop stars to cooperate and not compete. It’s pretty compelling and I was suddenly one of those captivated kids they showed in the end credits, singing along and wishing for a better world. The sheer logistics of organizing something like this pre-Internet was a little mind-blowing. I’m glad Sheila E was present to give us the less-than-generous side of the whole venture, but this could have done with a bit more negative energy. Still, seeing all the footage and outtakes, and all these incredible singers doing their thing together was pretty intoxicating. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


We were hit yet again by the curse of the soggy popcorn, and with a name like “dirty martini,” I expected a hefty hit of vermouth and olives. It was all really overpowered by garlic, even the bleu cheese! Still, salty, garlicky popcorn is definitely my jam, so I sucked up my half of the bowl pretty quickly. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: I was 8 years old when "We Are the World" came out. Cyndi Lauper was my favorite part of the song. Really, anything Cyndi did was beyond reproach to me in 1985. Hell, anything Cyndi does in 2024 is beyond reproach. Anyway, it was fascinating to watch this documentary about one of - if not the most - significant moments in music during the 1980s. I love a good oral history, and this was a trip down memory lane that scratched my curiosity itch. Lionel Ritchie's rich and impressive memories carry most of the reminiscing, and gaps are filled in by Bruce Springsteen (still kind of a fox), Sheila E (!!!HOLY HELL, CAN SHE DRUM!!!), Huey Lewis (very funny, now and then), and Cyndi herself (very Brooklyn), as well as some of the technical folks on staff that night. Affecting, nostalgic, informative, and lovely - but could have done with a bit more narrative heft. Still, it hit all my "I miss the 1980s" buttons. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Friends send us popcorn recipes all the time, and we do keep them in the coffers for future ventures. But when my beloved Stephanie sent this to me a couple days ago, I knew I had to push it up the queue. The blogger uses bagged popcorn because #paidsponsorship, but we popped our own because we're purists and no one is paying us to do this. Yet. Anyway, although the popcorn became a bit soggy and the ingredients gravitated to the bottom of the bowl - two problems we will likely never solve - I enjoyed both making this popcorn and eating it. Then again, I can hoover bleu-cheese stuffed olives like a champ, and that is essentially what this tasted like. Dirty martini? Not so much. A misnomer, sure, but still.. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Cheese Gal




36 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page