top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #23 Zootopia & Jamaican Jerk Popcorn

In which we visit the Caribbean and learn that animated films can, in fact, be "woke".

Jamaican Jerk Popcorn

Dave: The social message may have been a bit heavy handed, but it's the kind of message we need right now: you can't paint everyone in the opposition with a broad brush and everyone can do a little good in the world in their own way. Despite the uplifting message though, the story and characters felt a bit thin, even for an animated feature. On the positive side, Kristen Bell had a cameo as a sloth and Shakira played a gazelle!! (⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I thought maybe the jerk seasoning and curry in this popcorn just hit nostalgic notes for me, but maybe the popcorn wasn't objectively as good as I thought. Then I noticed that Joe was literally scooping up the tiny coconut pieces from my bowl after he'd finished his. It's sweet, spicy, and unbelievably delicious. It definitely will get top five popcorn status!! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: Is it possible for an animated film to be "woke"? Yup. With its critical eye on social commentary, Zootopia shines a light on privilege, racial profiling, and gender roles. Kids, of course, would pick up on none of this, but for adults, there's a completely different context. This really is one of the best animated films in recent years. Funny, beautifully animated, and brilliantly cast (Kristen Bell as a sloth is the funniest wink-nudge ever). A winner. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

When I was buying the ingredients for this popcorn, the cashier at Market District and I talked about how this popcorn might be a disaster. I told her I'd return with the verdict. Well, [name redacted for privacy], it was one of the best. An unbelievable combination of coconut, spice, and salt - I can see us making this again and again and again. Definitely a frontrunner for the Top 10. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

PS: Dave called me a "snowflake" for liking the movie so much. Have at it, social media.


2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page