top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #236: Pee-wee's Big Holiday and Cool Ranch Popcorn

Even if Dave gave the film a less-than-stellar score, Pee-wee Herman is a legend. The end. (Also: hi, Daniel! we both mention you in our reviews!)

Cool Ranch Doritos™️ Popcorn

Dave: Growing up, my little brother was obsessed with Pee-wee Herman, specifically Pee-wee’s Big Adventure. We’d taped it from HBO, USA or somesuch, and he watched it so much that the tape stopped working - there was a blue screen instead of Pee-wee’s hijinks. After so much Pee-wee in my childhood, I skipped the 2016 movie when it came out. It’s probably okay that I did, because the camp-bordering-on-cringe niche of the film was a bit much, even for me! Still, the absolutely ridiculous plot, low-fi special effects, and wacky Pee-wee Herman antics were good for a laugh. It was a little disconcerting that Pee-wee bore a more than passing resemblance to Skeletor, but I managed to overlook that for the most part. (️️⭐️⭐️1/2)


The other day, I asked Joe if he liked Cool Ranch Doritos growing up, apropos of nothing. Somehow the ever-present teenage flavor/smell of cool ranch came into my brain and I couldn’t shake it. Friends, I did not enjoy Cool Ranch. Partly, I think this was a firm effort on my part to avoid anything that was too popular, even as a teenager. Everyone else liked “Whoomp! There it Is!” and I was into 10,000 Maniacs Unplugged. Other folks were into Go-Gurt and I was buying fish sauce to make Thai food. This popcorn made me rethink that stance just a little, because it was really good. It was also so salty that I think my entire body looks a bit like a prune now, but it tasted good. Of course, if you dump an entire packet of ranch seasoning on anything, it’s bound to taste okay. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: When I first caught a glimpse of Penny King, I turned to Dave and said, "Holy shit, I think that's Simone!" (It was.) Friends, you must know this: Pee-wee Herman's Big Adventure was my favorite movie as a kid. My brother and I memorized most of the dialogue and used to recite lines while falling asleep. When I met my future brother-in-law (hi, Daniel!), we discovered our mutual love for that 1985 classic. After having Pee-wee's Big Holiday in my Netflix queue since it was released in 2016, I/we finally got around to watching it. Is it essentially the road trip re-tread of Big Adventure? Yes. Did it break my heart because Paul Reubens is no longer with us? Yes. Did that make me kind of weepy because Reuben is no longer with us? Also yes. Is it as good as Big Adventure? Hell, no. Did it still make me laugh at its utter absurdity? Absolutely. Will I watch it again? Probably. Long live Pee-wee Herman! (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


As I've aged, I have found that my body has a really hard time processing powdered garlic or any kind of garlic that isn't in its pure form. It lingers on my palate for days. Although I may initially enjoy the taste of a garlic-flavored item as I eat it, I later regret it as my pores and tastebuds work overtime to rid themselves of the taste. To that end: this popcorn was delicious in that it combined the flavor sensation that is Cool Ranch™️ Doritos with our favorite Friday snack/dinner. There was, however, an abundance of garlic that is lingering on my tongue as I write this. No me gusta. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: some Mommy blog Dave found


29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page