top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #28: What We Do in the Shadows & Salt and Vinegar Popcorn

Updated: Feb 24, 2019

Witty Kiwi vampires paired with a British pub classic.

Salt and Vinegar Popcorn

Dave: The movie was cute, had some really funny moments ("We're werewolves not swearwolves"), but ultimately felt too disjointed and meandering to be something I'd watch again. It felt like a bunch of funny, albeit predictable, vampire jokes and gags strung together in a pretty thin storyline. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I was afraid this popcorn wouid simply taste like we accidentally poured vinegar on our popcorn. Happily, it was delicious. The nuttiness of the popcorn paired well with the salt and malt vinegar and it was so simple and easy. It wasn't the best popcorn we've made, but I'd definitely make it again! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: Unabashedly absurd, madcap, and hilarious, What We Do in the Shadows makes great use of the mockumentary format to lampoon everything from vampire lore to domestic living to dating rituals. Its gleeful gore (one vampire spews a terrific amount of blood after eating French fries) coupled with it faux-serious confessionals (like the ill-fated romance between a 200 year-old vampire and a 96 year-old woman) keeps it from retreading familiar themes while thumbing its nose at them. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

I've never been a huge fan of salt and vinegar potato chips - they tend to be too artificial. This recipe is far closer to the salty bite of English fish and chips. I couldn't help myself from spraying more of the malt vinegar mixture on my bowl. I went into this popcorn expecting it to be disappointing, but ended up wishing I had doubled the recipe. I'll definitely make this again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page