top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #29: Queen of Katwe and Sushi Popcorn

One of us would prefer sushi bazooked into his mouth; the other would prefer sushi bazooked back into the ocean.

Sushi Popcorn

Dave: While it was a little heavy-handed on the "chess as life" metaphors, the movie was sweet and satisfying. The underlying true story is one of those Mr. Holland's Opus-level inspiring tales, and the acting and writing here get it across without too much cheapening or too many overly saccharine additions. In addition, the soundtrack is amazing. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

I'm not a fan of sushi. If I wanted to eat sour chewy fish and funny-tasting greenery, I'd just order that square fish sandwich from McDonald's. But we're running out of popcorn recipes on our list, so I picked this one to appease Joe and because most of the ingredients were fairly easy to find. It wasn't as awful as I thought it would be, but I still couldn't finish my bowl. (⭐️⭐️)

Joe: It would take a hardened cynic not to be moved by The Queen of Katwe. The film is sentimental, sometimes frustratingly so, but it is more than made up for in the heartfelt performances and the unflinching portrait of poverty and struggle. Ultimately, this is a triumphant underdog story that's hard not to root for. The film's epilogue is unbelievably powerful. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Sushi is my favorite food. I was suspicious of this recipe, though, and for good reason. How do you replicate the taste of raw fish with... popcorn? I needn't have worried. It works. The saltiness of the seaweed with the dash of sesame oil and the tingle of wasabi is a damn fine facsimile. I devoured my bowl. And then ate all of Dave's seaweed. And then rocked a bit in a fit of happiness. It made me miss my sushi bazooka buddy Sarah, though. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page