top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #41: Mudbound & Brown Butter-Lemon Popcorn

Updated: Feb 23, 2019

In which we go for a simplistic popcorn and pair it with a gut-wrenching film.

Brown Butter-Lemon Popcorn

Dave: I wanted to like this movie a lot more than I did. Not that I didn’t enjoy it - the acting was amazing and it was a beautifully shot film. It was also undoubtedly powerful. But even if all of the characters were fully realized, it smacked of Hallmark-movie-ending and white savior-ism a bit much for me. I always wish that movies like this one left more loose ends dangling and didn’t wrap up everything so neatly. Life doesn’t - and didn’t - happen that way, though the movie would have been horrifically devastating if it had not worked out the way it did. Still, I think the plot, though gripping, felt flimsy and contrived. Even amazing acting can’t completely fix those kinds of fundamental problems. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

This might have been called “salt popcorn with a hint of lemon.” It was so damn salty, though the lemon flavor really lightened the brown butter. This would be great popcorn to have on the porch in the summer with a cold beer or a margarita. Oh. And the salt? I maaaay have had a cocktail and a half while cooking and been a little overzealous with my salting at the end. Oops. Just don’t tell Joe - it’ll be our little secret. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Joe: Kari recommended this movie to me last week, and what a powerful film it is. Anchored by truly brilliant performances from Carey Mulligan and Mary J. Blige (so help me god if Blige doesn’t get the Oscar - her non-verbal communication is almost more effective than her verbal), Mudbound touches on themes of familial loyalty, resilience, race, and honor. Unflinching in its brutality, the film isn’t always easy to watch - there are several moments when I couldn’t bear to see what was playing out on screen. But this is truly fine filmmaking, despite moments of melodrama: beautifully shot, framed, and directed, and HOLY SHIT - Mary J. Blige and Carey Mulligan, FTW. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

We’ve made this popcorn before, but never submitted our reactions to it. This time, it was slightly saltier than the last. I wondered if Dave maybe added a cup of salt instead of a teaspoon or whatever. But I trust his skills in the kitchen. He’s fairly unimpeachable in that arena (we recently ate a pan of his peanut butter brownies in less than 24 hours -#livingthedream). Anyway. This batch of popcorn was good, not great. I like the lemony undercurrent mixed with the fat of the butter. But the salt... cripes, my tongue is still stinging from it. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page