top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #57: Blue Jasmine and Olive Oil and Parmesan Popcorn

We find out that butter-less popcorn can actually be delicious!

Olive Oil and Parmesan Popcorn

Dave: I love these “everything slowly unravels” movies - where you watch a character, in this case Cate Blanchett, slowly fall apart, like a favorite pair of shoes. Though she has a foil in her perpetually down on her luck sister, Cate’s character, a fallen socialite whose backstory slowly comes into focus as the movie progresses, is the center here. Her acting is superb and is supported by an amazing cast. I love movies like Blue Jasmine because they feel like life: unlike rom coms and action movies, everyone is a bit flawed. Though Blanchett’s husband, played by Alec Baldwin, is a bit one-note, everyone else is rich and surprising and real. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I love butter. We always have at least a pound in our house, in case a manic baking episode strikes. When Joe suggested this recipe, I thought it would be okay, but wouldn’t be as rich or delicious without the fat that butter provides. But, I also like cheese. And I could easily have licked the bottom of the bowl, but Joe got to it first (see his review below). The only reason this isn’t getting a full 5 stars is that the salt in the recipe plus the salt in the parm was just a little too much for my taste. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Joe: OK: let’s clear the air before I start this review. Woody Allen is a piece of shit. Having said that, his films heretofore have been either exceptionally brilliant (Annie Hall) or terrible (Zelig). Blue Jasmine falls closer to the former than the latter. Let’s be clear: the screenplay is exceptionally dark, especially in the final ten minutes, and the dialogue is never anything less than snappy. But Cate Blanchett is phenomenal throughout. Hers is a nuanced, extraordinary performance, at turns both luminous and revelatory. She’s definitely one of the most talented actresses of our time, and she commands every scene she’s in here, without being overly dramatic. As a whole, the movie is very good, but especially satisfying in its little “twist”. But Blanchett. Jesus. She’s brilliant. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Dave started bringing the bowl of popcorn back to the kitchen while the dregs were still in it. “It’s not empty!” I said, and proceeded to run my fingers through the remaining oil and un-popped kernels, stuffing every remnant into my greedy mouth. Is this a fancy popcorn? No. Would I knock Dave’s hands out of the bowl just so I could have one more handful? Yes. Dear god, yes. I’m sorry, Dave. I’m so, so sorry. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Popcorn recipe from: Party Popcorn by Ashton Epps Swank. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).


3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page