top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #61: Game Night and Peppery Lemon Garlic Popcorn

We sadly come to terms with the fact that neither of us has hooked up with Denzel Washington (or even a Denzel Washington look-alike).

Joe holding an empty popcorn bowl
Whoops!

Dave: I was ready for this to be a ridiculously stupid, mediocre movie. And while it was pretty stupid, it was far from mediocre: it kept us laughing the whole evening. The writing was snappy, the acting was great, and the camera work was brilliant! The twists keep you guessing, and the constant steam of deadpan jokes and repartee is delightful. Maybe it’s not good for the whole family, but it’s great for those of us who love the I-hooked-up-with-a-Denzel-lookalike jokes. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I didn’t think a popcorn this simple could be this delicious. It’s just lemon pepper, garlic powder, and salt, but I kept shoveling it in. Part of the allure could be that we ran out of vegetable oil and had to substitute olive oil (yay for good fat!), but the lovely, slightly pungent flavor won me over. After this triumphant popcorn, I think Joe and I should put all those delicious Penzey’s spices in our cabinets to use and make our own popcorn recipes in 2019. I haven’t run this by him, so this may be subject to husbandly veto. But if enough of you think it’s a good idea, how could he possibly say no!? (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: I am hard to please when it comes to comedies. What most people find funny, I do not. But for me, Game Night is funny. Very, very funny. It plays to all my favorite comedic sweet spots: witty repartee, insanely illogical sequences, perfectly-timed, cringe-inducing pratfalls, sharp comedic timing - of which McAdams seems to get the lion’s share. This is a sharp script that’s been well-directed (with some truly exceptional camera work) and a cast that truly seems to be enjoying themselves. I haven’t laughed so hard since... honestly, I can’t remember. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

“Did you remember to get a photo of the popcorn?” I asked Dave, twenty minutes into the movie. “No,” he responded. The popcorn was gone. That’s how good it was. Peppery, lemony, salty, delicious. It doesn’t get much better than this. Good lord. A banner night. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Popcorn recipe from: Party Popcorn by Ashton Epps Swank. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page