top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #99: Bad Education and Mozzarella Stick Popcorn

Allison. Muthafukin'. Janney. And enough breadcrumbs to open a goddamn bakery.

Mozzarella Stick Popcorn

Dave: It felt great to watch a film where bad guys lose, good guys win, and Alison Janney plays yet another horrible, no-nonsense role. Both Janney and Jackman inhabit their characters, making sociopathic criminals - if not likable - at least fun to watch. While it’s sad the student journalist’s role in this story was embellished, though not entirely untrue, it’s still - oddly - a feel good movie, if you enjoy watching a house of cards fall apart and then get stomped on for good measure (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


We’re running low on popcorn ingredients, so I’ve resorted to random Google searches to find recipes that use what we have handy in the house. Lack of viable alternatives is the only reason I’d put breadcrumbs on popcorn, even if there was butter and mozzarella involved. The end product, while it wasn’t perfect, also wasn’t as disgusting as I’d thought it might be. Would I make it again? No, there are far better uses for seasoned breadcrumbs. But was it worth not making a special trip to the store mid-pandemic? You bet! (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: I love a good scandal movie, and this one definitely ticked all the boxes. The plot kicks off immediately, which means the ride is swift and enjoyable throughout. From the plucky student reporter to the easily shanghaied colleagues, this is pure popcorn fare. Add to that Allison Janney who chews up every scene she's in and Hugh Jackman who somehow manages not to move a muscle in his face even when he's pissed at someone, and you've got a winner. It's not the most brilliant movie of all time, but it's a perfect Friday night flick. And y'all, if Dave has some little tart in Las Vegas and I'm not benefitting from it in some way, there will be hell to pay. But if Dave is Hugh Jackman's tart, I think I'd be able to live with that. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


"Oh, this is good," I said, as I plucked a little off the top. It tasted like oregano, which I enjoy. Dave shook the popcorn a bit to mix it up. "This is still good," I said, and continued eating. About a quarter of the way through, Dave shook the popcorn again, and suddenly about a pound of breadcrumbs and melt-y mozzarella emerged. This was shocking to me and marked a point where the popcorn went from merely good and only vaguely reminiscent of mozzarella sticks to "Jesus Christ, I'm going to have to vacuum after this." And then it shifted from that to "I feel a little sick and need to lie down... but only after one more handf... ohgodohgodohgod." (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Some random website because Dave is going off-script.



59 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page