top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #75: Happy Death Day and Indonesian Popcorn

Multiple stabbings and a visit to "Indonesia".

Indonesian Popcorn

Dave: This movie was mindless, funny, vaguely predictable, and a wee bit gory. In short, I loved it. It played well on horror tropes - it wasn’t as campily self-aware as Cabin in the Woods, but still was able to make fun of itself while providing some good scares. The Groundhog Day-like premise where we watch the main character get progressively nicer nearly worked (though the transformation seemed really fast), and the scene where she and her father made amends was legitimately touching. Not great art, but it was great fun. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️) 


The website calls this Indonesian Popcorn, but it might as well have been Popcorn Satay. The sauce on the popcorn was peanutty, garlicky, and spicy. It had soy sauce in it, but I missed the salty pungency of fish sauce. And the dried bananas were a kind of mystifying addition: they were a bit too sweet, didn’t play well with the sauce, and, after being covered in sauce and baked, didn’t give the crunch I wish they’d had. I think peanuts, coconut, or even just popcorn with no mix-ins would have worked just as well. Still, I’d make this again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I read a review that mentioned this movie was like a cross between Scream and Groundhog Day, except it's not as scary as the former and not as funny as the latter. I largely agree with that opinion. The plot is initially intriguing, but there's a point where it feels kinda played out and I found myself just wanting a solution. The reveal of the killer isn't particularly shocking nor is the resolution fleshed out. However, the central actress had excellent comedic timing and there were some pretty terrific jump scares. It was a fun film to watch, and I'm super-curious about the sequel. It seems pretty idiotic that there would even be one, but since when did horror franchises care about anything making sense? (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


"This is probably some white person's idea of what Indonesian flavors are," I cynically said to Dave as we grocery shopped for the ingredients. After all, Indonesia is literally 17,000 islands, so I don't think one recipe could capture the cuisine of a country that large. "Game point, white people," I thought, as I shoveled another handful of this heavenly concoction in my mouth. This popcorn fired on all cylinders - it's creamy (peanut butter - surely a staple of Indonesian cuisine), spicy, salty, sweet, and a little... off? The banana chips were a weird addition, especially since most banana chips taste like communion wafers to me (says the guy who's been to church, like, twice in his life). Anyway. This was fucking delicious. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Recipes by Popcorn.org. (The Popcorn Board, 2019).



58 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page