top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #115: The Maltese Falcon and Adobo & Roasted Peanut Popcorn

Why are classics classics? Why is this popcorn on par with the second coming?

Adobo & Roasted Peanut Popcorn

Dave: I'd expected to be more taken in with the intricate plot, twists, and turns of this film. Instead, I mostly noticed that Humphrey Bogart acted by grimacing and then assaulting his female leads. It was filmed beautifully, and perhaps in its time the plot didn't seem entirely outlandish and felt tighter, and some of the characters didn't feel hackneyed and stale. By the way, when I say "characters," I'm speaking only of the male characters, because most of the women in the film, even the two most prominent actresses, only had characterization when their plotlines revolved around the men with whom they interacted. It may be heresy, but I was kind of unimpressed. I didn't think it was a *bad* movie, necessarily, just not one I'll want to re-watch. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


The popcorn, on the other hand, was pretty amazing. It called for mixing the flavorings (salt, sugar, and adobo) with egg white, whisking, and then pouring over the popcorn and baking. While a bit fussy, that kept the popcorn crispy and crunchy, even after I dumped a tablespoon of wet adobo (plus a few extra sprinkles of chipotle chili powder) on a mound of still-warm popcorn. On the other hand, this recipe had a problem: I think the volume of popcorn vs. peanuts and topping was way off. Still, the popcorn is definitely in my "make again" pile. That is, if we ever get around to making any of these recipes again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I have a soft spot for flicks from the 30s and 40s, especially noir. There's something wildly romantic about them, even if the continental accents sound silly and over-the-top to modern ears. And, of course, to canonize these films, one must be more than willing and/or able to put blinders on to the rampant sexism, classism, racism, and homophobia. I've been meaning to watch The Maltese Falcon for a long time now: it's about as classic as "classic" films get, but I can't say it quite measured up to the hype for me. The acting was fine, but the plot was so convoluted - especially in the final act - that I wondered what the point was. Still, the set pieces and camerawork were marvelous, and the film mostly held my attention. Maybe this is more of a film for cinephiles than one for Plebeians like me. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I heart peanuts. I heart spices and heat. I heart popcorn. When all these things are thrown in a bowl together, it's a recipe that makes me feel like a million rainbows are being shot into my soul. I ascend to another astral plane. I should write the Popcorn Board a love letter. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: The Popcorn Board



40 views1 comment

1 Comment


slohiker1
Sep 05, 2020

I could almost taste the popcorn! Who could not like Bogart. I though noir was a wine adjective.

Like
bottom of page