top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #117: Class Action Park and Monster Munch Marshmallow Blah Blah Blah

We love you, RBG. For always. Thank you.

Monster Munch Marshmallow Popcorn Snack Mix

Dave: After watching this documentary, it seems like most of us were lucky we didn't grow up next to an incredibly dangerous water park in the 1980s. I mean, as a naïve kid, I'd probably have tried some of the rides at Action Park, but Christ - this is exactly why expecting wildly profitable businesses to self-regulate doesn't really work. And don't even get me started on the problems with asking individuals to gauge how safe actions are when experts aren't weighing in and important facts about deaths and injuries are hidden or obscured (COVID-19, anyone?). Still, this documentary was a pretty wild nostalgia trip for anyone who grew up in the 80s, especially the footage of commercials for the ill-fated waterpark and the remembrances of former employees and park goers. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️).


I know Joe hates sweet popcorn, but sometimes I can't help myself. A salty, sweet, marshmallow-laden, cinnamon-dusted popcorn with lots of butter and, my favorite halloween snack, candy corn? I'll take a bowl. Well, not technically a *bowl* exactly, since we didn't quite finish ours. Don't worry - we will: I'll probably have some for breakfast tomorrow. But still, this ungodly combination of sweet and fatty things was definitely worth the hassle of marshmallow-melting and all the napkins we went through eating the gooey mess. Joe will tell you it was gross, but don't believe him, dear readers. And I'm not just saying that because I've had enough sugar to keep me awake until sometime early on Monday morning. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: We desperately needed something light-hearted tonight, and I had picked this movie before the announcement of RBG's untimely and tragic passing. We were still reeling even as I pressed play, but I thought this film might be enough to temper the darkness. I was wrong. This is a horrifying documentary that peels back the ugly skin of capitalism, unchecked greed, ruthless power-grabs, cronyism, and Ayn Rand-fueled "personal liberties" bullshit, all cast through the hedonism of the me-me-me 1980s. It's galling. And also compelling. And weirdly thrilling. Occasionally funny. But also upsetting and stomach-churning. And nothing feels resolved in the end. I don't want to say anything more about the movie, but instead use this space to say we need to flip the Senate blue and we need a Biden/Harris win. Our very lives and democracy depend on it. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


When Dave started transferring this unholy, sticky glop to the popcorn bowl, I asked where the recipe came from. "Welllllll," he responded, "I kinda forgot what recipe I was going to make, so I just kinda mish-mashed a lot of recipes together." At some point there were mini-marshmallows involved, but I don't think they wound up in the popcorn. Maybe they were in the caramel? Anyway, this was crazy sugary. But aside from the candy corns (vomit emoji), I can't say I hated it. I also can't say I loved it. But I also ate quite a bit of it. This has been a confusing and upsetting evening. Please forgive me. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Jesus god, who knows. (Holy fuck, it's partially based on a recipe from a goddamned mommy blog.)



37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page