top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #124: Blithe Spirit [1945] and Garlic & Herb Butter Popcorn

The Nerdery™ stans Margaret Rutherford. And also this popcorn. But mostly Margaret Rutherford.

Garlic & Herb Butter Popcorn

Dave: I'm going to avoid commenting too much on the sexist undertones in the film: the ex-wife haunts her widowed husband's new marriage, is depicted as an unstable nag throughout, and ultimately teams up with the current wife to kill him, so - oddly - the three of them can be together forever. The misogyny aside, though, this was really worth a watch - the dialogue was quick and witty and Elvira, the deceased ex-wife, is kooky in that luxurious 1940s manner, all flowy gowns, temper tantrums, and that weird accent where she can't pronounce a simple "s" sound. But the real winner of the film is the medium, Madame Arcati, played by Margaret Rutherford, who also played Miss Marple in several Agatha Christie adaptations. Her nearly-mismatched wardrobe, numerous capes and scarves, over-the-top mediumship (that looked more like a bizarre calisthenics routine), and generally odd character quirks made Rutherford impossible not to constantly watch when she was on screen. If not for her, this film might have just been all snappy dialogue, despite several characters being deceased. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I fear we're quickly running out of things to put in popcorn. This recipe seemed oddly like several we've had before, though after 100-some, that's probably inevitable. If you, dear readers, have any completely off-the-wall popcorn ideas, please post them in the comments so I can really surprise Joe next week! Bonus points if they contain Christmas flavors like candied cherries, dates, cinnamon, or regret. Even with the oddly familiar recipe, a mix of garlic, herbs, salt, and butter doesn't disappoint. For once, a simple popcorn had the right punch of flavor: both the garlic and the herbs really came through. It also managed not to be overly soggy with butter or so salty I'm going to wake up with a parched throat at 3 AM. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2)


Joe: When I was a freshman in high school, Blithe Spirit was the drama production in fall of 1991. I thought it was fabulous, though I only remember vague snippets. (I think my friend Ellyn was in it?). When Dave picked this as our film tonight, I was certain that plot points would return to me, but I was wrong. The story was goofy but enjoyable, the script bordering on both witty and absurd. With the exception of the actress who played Madame Arcati, this was insanely over-acted. One could argue that Madame Arcati was a caricature - I quite enjoyed her, though, and was desperate for more scenes starring her. Final verdict: a fine diversion, but nothing spectacular. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


This popcorn is listed under "Quick & Easy" on the Popcorn Board's website. And they're not wrong. It took no time to whip it up, and frankly, I could've eaten another bowl of it. Though the recipe recommends fresh herbs, I did use dry rosemary, but I can't say it altered the overall effect: this was, as its name implies, buttery, garlicky, and herby (I'm well aware that herbaceous is the correct term, but it would ruin the flow!). This is definitely a popcorn I'd like to make again. And again. And again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Board


Blithe Spirit on IMDB.


29 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page