top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #127: Hamilton and Caramel Apple Popcorn

Because I choose a three-hour film, we had a matinee (with an intermission). Dave picks the autumn-iest popcorn, the perfect capstone to a November afternoon.

Caramel Apple Popcorn

Dave: So, it's probably heresy to quibble with Hamilton (don't @ me, y'all), but here we go. A disclaimer: I didn't hugely dislike the movie version of the musical, but I don't quite see what all the fuss was about, either. I'd heard bits and pieces of the music (because how could you not?), but I'd avoided any immersive Hamilton experiences until now. About 15 minutes in Joe caught me snickering to myself because some of the opening songs felt awkward and stilted to me, like those educational rap songs they made for elementary schoolers in the late 80s and early 90s about things like brushing your teeth or memorizing your multiplication tables. While we're at it, the whole thing felt musically uneven, vacillating wildly from full Broadway glitz to various registers of hip-hop-like numbers, but all with an undercurrent of smiles and jazz hands just waiting to burst out. All the while, Lin-Manuel Miranda keeps trying to emote while he sings, which just ends up being breathy, unsupported, and flat - I might not have noticed quite as much if the rest of the cast wasn't really stellar. The storyline, and the "who tells your story?" take on history was affecting, but I couldn't help notice that the whole musical was an exercise in taking a very Black art form and using it to talk about the achievements of a bunch of white guys. Still, I'm glad I finally saw it. (⭐️⭐⭐️1/2)


I had one bite of this popcorn and was immediately transported back to the occasional times as a kid when we had Apple Jacks cereal in the house. It was appley, cinnamon-y, and delicious. Unlike some of the other popcorns that require caramel or sugar toppings, this one avoided the curse of the soggy popcorn through the inclusion of apple chips, which stayed crisp and crunchy even after I dumped a cup of cinnamon-flavored caramel on them. This probably can't be a popcorn we have often, since we shoveled it down like someone was paying us and it was, essentially, just lots of sugar poured on top of fruit. Still, it was definitely worth the fuss. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I've been eager to watch Disney+'s Hamilton since July, and have been uniquely tuned into Dave's reluctance to watch it with me. But gentle reader, I desperately want my husband to enjoy this musical as much as I do, and was certain that all he had to do was watch it and soon we'd be on our way to reenacting the Cabinet Battles at the top of our lungs on joyful road trips. I've had plenty of practice: I've owned the Original Broadway recording since the fall of 2015, have choreographed all the scenes in my head (having never seen the show live), and have assigned myself the roles of Aaron Burr and Hamilton in many of my Solo Shows (e.g., in the car or living room when Dave isn't around). Anyway, I write all this anticipating Dave's brutal (?just a hunch?) review, hedging my bets to soften the inevitable blow. Because reader, as expected, I loved this production so much even though Lin-Manuel Miranda can't sing for shit. And, against all odds, I didn't sing through the entire show so that Dave could enjoy (?) it on its own merits. Frankly, If I never see Hamilton in a theater, this recording will, to quote Eliza, "be enough". I can't wait to watch it again. (⭐⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Is there a better combination than apples and caramel? Maybe, but caramel apples on a crisp fall day are as tasty as they are cliché and this popcorn fired on all cylinders for me. It wasn't quite as sweet as I thought it would be, and I loved the dried apples merged with the sprinkle of salt. I'm fairly certain I ignobly batted Dave's hand away from the bowl so that I could grab another fistful. When I watch Hamilton again (and I will), I'll be sure to have a bowl of this with me to comfort me when Philip is slain. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Board


Hamilton on IMDB.


97 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page