top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #145: Desperately Seeking Susan and Cheese & Chive Popcorn

In which I stand by Madonna no matter what and Dave can't even. Yet we're still married. Go figure.

Cheese & Chive Popcorn

Dave: Geez. 80’s films were rough. So far as I can tell, this movie follows a boring, upper middle-class woman who owns a bunch of oversized clown clothes, but all in ecru. Later, she gets amnesia, dresses like Cyndi Lauper, gets a perm, and becomes a magician’s assistant. She chases after Madonna who owns a bunch of Madonna clothes, mostly in black. There are also a few men that drift into the story who are either hot and infuriating or dorky and infuriating. No one really bothers to act, which makes for a riveting film. There’s some bizarre sub-plot (which, I guess, is the actual plot!?) involving stolen ancient earrings. Boy, will the Mean And Infuriating Bad Guys be surprised when they find out they're probably just clown lady’s costume jewelry! (⭐️1/2)


I was dubious about this popcorn. We had rosemary and parmesan popcorn early on in this endeavor [that was FIVE YEARS AGO, readers!] and it was delicious. Did we really need to substitute fresh rosemary with dried chives? Kirk Castle, the Trini popcorn guru, seemed to think so. And damn, he was right. Despite the fact that - probably due to my popcorn-maker error - the parmesan didn’t melt quite enough, this was still delicious. We have several bunches of fresh herbs in the fridge, since we both watched Food Network as impressionable 20-somethings, but the dried chives mixed with the butter and the parmesan are delicious, and best of all dried chives don’t add any moisture (and dreaded sogginess) to the popcorn! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Despite having posters in my office at BGSU, the last time I saw Desperately Seeking Susan, I was in elementary school. Obviously I was a Madonna stan at a very young age, and was in awe of everything she did. I'm 100% certain I didn't follow the plot of the film at the time, but I do distinctly remember Madonna drying her underarms with a bathroom hand dryer. Anyway, watching this film was a wild retro trip for sure. I'm still totally taken by 1970s/1980s era New York City, all grit and style and massive lofts that artists could apparently afford. 30+ years after I had first seen it, I can't say I remembered anything (aside from Madonna in the bathroom), but I'll say this: Rosanna Arquette is delightful, Madonna is a fucking queen, and Aidan Quinn's blue eyes melted my 10 year old heart (and my 43 year old one, too). The plot is silly, the climax ridiculous, the denouement incomprehensible, and the credits a who's-who of the 80s (Stephen Wright, y'all! Stephen Wright!) Would absolutely watch again and again. (⭐⭐⭐⭐)


There's very little to say about popcorns this simple. If you like buttery popcorn, this is for you. If you like chives, this is for you. If you like parmesan cheese, this is for you. If the combination of those things is enough to throw you into fits of ecstasy, you have a fairly good idea of what this popcorn tastes like. Heaven, people. Absolute heaven. This Kirk Castle guy might not be so bad after all... (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: 100 Popcorn Recipes by "Kirk Castle"



67 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page