top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #16: Laura & Crab Boil Popcorn

Updated: Feb 24, 2019

Once again, our hunger prevented us from taking a photo. We get better at this as the project progresses. Kinda.

The bowl! Again!

Dave: SPOILERS AHEAD! I chose this film knowing very little about it other than it had gotten nice reviews and was from the 1940s. I wasn't disappointed. Okay, I was a little disappointed at the end, when it turned out the character who was a caricature of himself, like a bad Scooby Doo villain, had done it. But then I realized that I'd fingered all of the other major characters for the murder, including the cop. I do want to see the entirely non existent sequel, though, where the killer spouts effete one liners and catty barbs from his jail cell in a satin housecoat. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


This popcorn was lovely and I shoved handful after handful of it into my mouth. I can't help but wonder, though, if I did that because the oyster crackers were salty. And because the second ingredient in Bill's Stuff, an Old Bay substitute from Bill's Seafood in Sunset Beach, NC, is salt. There was flavor to this popcorn too - Bill's first ingredient is paprika - but I'm not sure it'll be at the very tip top of my popcorn list. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: They don't make films quite like this anymore. Constructed similarly to an Agatha Christie novel, Laura masterfully sets up multiple possibilities and countless red herrings. During the final twenty minutes, I turned to Dave several times and whispered, " [Character] did it!" I was wrong every time. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


The only thing missing from this popcorn was crab meat. I love seafood and I loved this popcorn. It had the perfect combination of flavor and spice, and the oyster crackers provided a really excellent counter-crunch to the popcorn. An outstanding (and easy to make!) snack. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page