top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #171: The Eyes of Tammy Faye and Furikake Popcorn

Hand Jessica Chastain the Academy Award now. Hand Joe more nori.

Furikake Popcorn

Dave: This was such a smart, tight biopic that somehow managed to encapsulate a sprawling, complicated personality. Even though Andrew Garfield was near-perfect as Jim Bakker, the script didn’t allow him to drive the narrative. Tammy Faye remains solidly at the center of the story and Jessica Chastain makes her believably earnest, endearing, savvy, and, occasionally, a bit naïve. The interspersed news footage and occasional 1970s and 80s camera effects don’t feel gimmicky. They ground the film in its various eras, particularly the sleek hedonism of the upwardly mobile 1980s. A handful of characters don’t seem fully realized, but I’m not sure that’s the fault of the script or actors. For instance, Jerry Falwell in the movie felt a bit flat, like a cartoonish villain, but that might simply be art imitating life. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐1/2)


When Joe said the popcorn he’d chosen for this week had nori in it, I considered saying I just wasn’t up to movie night and blaming my recovering from eye surgery and a minor headache. Ever since I first had it with my friend Lobo in the Eastman School dorm, I have detested nori. It hits all my gastronomic pain points: the texture is creepy, the taste is far too close to dead fish for my liking. While this wasn’t my favorite popcorn, somehow the nori being chopped up into little pieces made it a bit more palatable. There was still an odd, acrid undertone to the popcorn, but it was tempered by the sesame, butter, and salt. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: Dave and I are big fans of a podcast called You're Wrong About, which examines the false narratives that have been calcified in the public eye by either poor media/reporting or just plain mis-remembering. A few months ago, we listened to an episode about the Bakkers, and I couldn't shake the sadness I felt for how wronged Tammy Faye was. I'd also seen the documentary on which this film was based, but that was back in the early aughts and I don't remember a drop of it. Anyway - this movie. The acting is flawless. Jessica Chastain's been nominated for an Academy Award, and she surely deserves the win. She embodies Tammy Faye - never pitying her, never playing her for laughs - and her performance finds the soul of the woman, humanizing her in a way that I found deeply moving. Andrew Garfield is equally good, and the two of them together - especially in their rows - are damn near magnetic. Add to that the jaw-dropping make-up and hair, and you'd think this would be a five star film. Unfortunately, there are some clunky moments, particularly in some ham-fisted directorial decisions that feel positioned for chuckles instead of pathos. Still, this is a film worthy of attention if only for the performances. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐)


I've never heard of furikake seasoning, but I love nori dearly and have been known to eat sheets of it as a snack (as I typed that sentence, I briefly considered grabbing some to cram into my mouth). I enjoyed making the seasoning, and I liked the curious umami-sweet-salty combination. When all the flavors hit with the butter and popcorn, it was a taste sensation. But I don't think I made enough of the seasoning to go on the popcorn, and therefore it felt a little bland. Still, I'm a fan and will make it again. Also, reader, I am going to have a some nori. Right now. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐)


Popcorn recipe from: The Popcorn Board



50 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page