top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #186: Everything Everywhere All At Once and Pumpkin Spice Latte Popcorn

A nearly perfect night of food and film at The Nerdery™.

Pumpkin Spice Latte Popcorn

Dave: This movie desperately wanted/needed to be a little longer - maybe a limited series or miniseries. Maybe it was simply the structure of the film, having to dredge through several multiverses to get the the heart of the main timeline. But the sci-fi, family drama, raccoon chef, and mother-daughter tension plots felt crammed into the film, even if it was 2.5 hours long. That’s not to say there weren’t some amazing performances: Michelle Yeoh was brilliant and Ke Huy Quan was captivating. Jamie Lee Curtis was, well, completely and appropriately ridiculous given her character. Still, I wish some of the interpersonal and sci-fi plot lines could have lingered a bit more. (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I was wary about dumping instant espresso powder, sugar, vanilla, and pumpkin pie spice on popcorn. By itself, the mixture smelled amazing but tasted incredibly bitter and I worried the Popcorn Board had finally steered us wrong. Verily, dear readers, I say unto you: the Popcorn Board brings good tidings of great popcorn, always. This recipe was delicious, though it might have been helped that I substituted melted butter for the melted coconut oil in the original recipe. Nonetheless, I’m eager to try the pumpkin spice mix on other snacks. The only minor quibble is that the coffee-pumpkin-spice flavoring didn’t adequately stick to the popcorn, though that could have been user error - maybe it would have worked better with coconut oil after all!? Minor quibble aside, chalk another successful movie night up to the popcorn geniuses at the Popcorn Board! (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: I write this without a shred of hyperbole: this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. It's mind-bending. It's hilarious. It's thought-provoking. It's deeply moving (even though there's a thin veneer of schmaltz that coats a mother/daughter détente in the final act). Michelle Yeoh delivers a career best performance as Evelyn. So help me god if she doesn't get an Academy Award nomination. Add Jamie Lee Curtis and Ke Huy Quan (YOU GUYS - DATA IS IN THIS MOVIE), spectacular fight sequences, and a witty script into the mix and you've got pure gold. I loved every minute. Every. Minute. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


We broke out the long sleeves, the flannels, and the pajama bottoms this week because Ohio decided she was done with summer. So Dave decided to celebrate with the chunky knitted scarf of all flavors: pumpkin spice. I was skeptical. And maybe a little irritated. Then he let me taste the sugar mix that was going on the popcorn, and I thought, "Huh. Maybe Starbucks actually is onto something." Then I took a bite. Move over, white woman Instagram. I got this. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Board



50 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page