top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #200: The Banshees of Inisherin and Mocha Popcorn

A movie about isolation meets a popcorn that looks like a colon blow but tastes like heaven.

Mocha Popcorn

Dave: Can a portrait of toxic masculinity, disconnection, and sheer stubbornness be beautiful? Readers, I’m still not sure, though I am confused by the tiny bit of Irish fiddle music in the soundtrack of a film whose main character is an Irish fiddler. The Banshees of Inisherin sounds the resonant strings of loneliness and isolation that are familiar to all of us, with COVID lockdowns and illness so close in our collective rearview mirrors. While I appreciate the outsized, almost comedic events [trying to not include spoilers!], the “genius musician is an asshole” plot is a bit hackneyed. Even the ever-present isolation is a bit much, as characters shrug off the Irish Civil War to go back to taking their cows on walks and sniping at each other in the pub. In the end, I found the performances and scenery captivating, but the stubborn, difficult central characters and plot a bit overdetermined and hollow. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Rice Krispie Treats are the perfect blank canvas. They’re nostalgic, genuinely tasty, texturally interesting, and happy to soak up whatever flavors you throw at them. It’s always a treat to eat an adult-ed up version of a childhood favorite, so I had high hopes for this recipe. I hate to toot my own horn (no I don’t!), but I didn’t let myself down. While they might have been better with a hint of salt, the bitterness of the cocoa powder and instant coffee took the sweet edge off the marshmallows. I was also excited to see that the popcorn actually stayed crispy, warding off the curse of the soggy popcorn. I am legitimately going to make these again for a party or for company. And Joe might be looking forward to other Rice Krispie knockoffs during future movie nights! (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: First of all, Ireland looks stunning and I very much want to visit it. And if Inish Erin were an actual place, I would probably toss my phone into the sea and wander around the lanes with Jenny the mini donkey in tow. Second of all, the acting in this film is truly impressive, especially the performances from Kerry Condon and Barry Keoghan. Keoghan in particular has immense control over his body and face, to the point that Dominic doesn't even feel like a character. The cinematography was lovely, the script was tight and mordantly funny. In the end, though, I'm not sure what the film is trying to say. No man is an island, even if they're literally on an island? Still, it's darn good - and probably brilliant. I just need to sit with it more. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


I was going to start the review of this popcorn with a bald-faced lie: that, despite all outward appearances, I'm not a total fanboy of everything my husband creates. But gentle readers, I think that's classic defection. Dave is supremely talented in the kitchen, and his innate understanding of flavor combinations never ceases to amaze me. I myself would never think to melt down marshmallows and add instant coffee and chocolate (and I'm sure other things) to make a mind-blowing facsimile of real-life mocha. But that's what he did and here we are. I'm a fanboy for life. Obvs. This concoction was outstanding. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐)


Popcorn recipe from: Dave Lewis 💅🏻



63 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page