top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #202: Jagged and Watergate Salad Popcorn

And are you thinking of me when you eat this popco-or-orn?

Watergate Salad Popcorn

Dave: Even if this movie was about half an infomercial for the 25th anniversary re-release of Jagged Little Pill, it still made me nostalgic for the 90s. The concerts, the bad VHS tapes, all of the audiotape masters, the schlubby fashion: it all struck a chord. What was more difficult was the fact that Alanis was there in studio but she felt like a secondary character, not the center of the narrative (which stopped at the end of the tour promoting Jagged Little Pill, by the way!). I did appreciate the “making of” bits and the peek inside Alanis’s storehouse of master tapes and unfinished songs, but somehow the movie didn’t coalesce. Still, it’s always great to watch someone take stock of their accomplishments, especially if they have keen insights and a bit of humor to go along with it. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


I vaguely remember having Watergate Salad at a family gathering or maybe a church potluck, and remembering it was both super sweet and oddly sophisticated. Pistachios hadn’t become a “thing” in rural Virginia at that point, I suppose. I was hoping to recreate that magic with Popcorn Watergate Salad, but I missed the mark. The white chocolate that I dissolved the pistachio pudding in was way too sweet, then the marshmallows and dried pineapple on top of that put it way over the top. Even a generous dose of salt couldn’t save this from being a bit treacly. Still, the pistachio flavor was a nice change and was genuinely tasty, at least before we both came close to going into some kind of sugar-induced altered state of being. (️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Not to be That Guy, but I didn't fall in love with Alanis until Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie. That album fucking slaps. In fact, I'd only ever heard the singles from Jagged Little Pill until I actually bought the album in 1999. It doesn't quite hold a candle to Junkie, but there's an undeniable power to "Hand in My Pocket", "Right Through You", "All I Really Want", and yes, even "You Oughta Know". This documentary zeroes in on Alanis as a Canadian teen popstar, transitioning into the powerhouse she became. It's honest, but it barely glances the surface of who Alanis is as a person. And maybe that was intentional. Although I enjoyed the story's arc, the talking heads, and the footage, I wanted more. And god, I would love a documentary about the transition years between Pill and Junkie. How she went from one to the other is fucking wild to me. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Idk. I love my husband dearly, but I was sus when he announced his intentions for this week's popcorn. I know he put a lot of thought and effort into it; he seemed to have spent most of the evening in the kitchen. There were walnuts and marshmallows and pistachio pudding mix and dried pineapple, and how he pulled it all together is a bit of a mystery to me. My first impression was that it tasted a bit like Lucky Charms. Alas, though, it didn't work for me. I like the marshmallows coated in pistachio pudding mix, but the other elements didn't quite hold together. I'm sorry, Dave! ILYSM!!! (⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Dave Lewis 💅🏻


Jagged on IMDB.


56 views2 comments

2 Comments


slohiker1
Apr 03, 2023

Loved your write-up

Like
thenerderymovienight
thenerderymovienight
Apr 08, 2023
Replying to

Thank you, Dad/Jim!

Like
bottom of page