top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #218: Blockers & Orange Creamsicle Popcorn

Did you know John Cena was funny? We didn't.


Orange Creamsicle Popcorn

Dave: It was only a matter of time until the bizarrely uncomfortable hook of the show PEN15, where two adult women play the leads in a comedy about middle school, wormed its way into a more mainstream teen sex comedy.  This has all the irreverence of American Pie except all of the usual jokes (losing one’s virginity, prom night debauchery, etc.) are refracted through the lens of the slightly co-dependent parents rather than the freewheeling teens. In a more highbrow movie, that switch could make the whole thing a bit more wistful. This film just mines it for the most awkward possible situations for the three parents at the center of the film. A special mention should go to Leslie Mann for the scene where she’s inadvertently electrocuted while hiding behind a TV in her daughter’s prom night suite. Probably wouldn’t watch again, but it made for a fun evening. (⭐️⭐⭐️1/2)️️️


For some reason that I’ve since forgotten, I was thinking the other day about elementary school recess. Specifically, I was thinking about the different kinds of ice cream and popsicles that we used to have at recess: orange, grape, and red pops, the short-lived, revolting banana pops, nutty buddies, fudgesicles (yuck!), and orange creamsicles, which were almost always the first to run out. So when I had to figure out a popcorn flavor tonight, I thought I’d make myself a orange creamsicle since I rarely got to the front of the line fast enough to grab one in school. The first mommy blogger I found with a recipe just suggested getting a CAN OF FREAKING DUNCAN HINES ORANGE FROSTING and dumping it on popcorn. Instead, I went for a recipe that used a cup of sugar, a can of sweetened condensed milk, marshmallows, a stick of butter, and some orange zest. Now that I’m writing this, perhaps I should have just gone with the frosting, except that the popcorn was delicious. It didn’t set quite like a rice krispies treat would - the liquid/marshmallow/popcorn ratio was a bit off - but it still tasted pretty delicious. I even scooped up a bit of the leftover orange goo with a spoon during a movie break! (️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Sometimes you just need an idiot movie that requires little to no brain activity. Truth: I really wanted to watch May December or Leave the World Behind tonight, but I just couldn't pull the trigger on something long or cerebral. So I was flipping through the Netflix queue (which, along with the [HBO] Max and Hulu queues, is inching toward overwhelming territory) and stumbled upon Blockers. It was precisely what I was looking for. The plot reboots those raunchy sex comedies from the 80s that Judd Apatow tried (and failed) to recapture in the late aughts. Here, though, the script is tighter than Apatow's bloated fare, boasting some excellent comedic timing from the leads and some unexpected gags along the way - a standout moment involves an electrocution scene that's very, very funny. (⭐️⭐⭐️⭐)


I'm not sure of the why, but I have extremely bad memories about creamsicles/dreamsicles from my childhood. In fact, I can only remember having them a couple times, and whatever happened in the immediate aftermath of eating one has imprinted itself in my brain as A Very Bad Thing. When Dave announced he was making dreamsicle popcorn, I felt a bit barf-y and was kind of filled with dread. It's been well over three decades since I've had the classic orange and cream combo, and I was not excited to have it again. This was delicious. Marshmallowy, orange-y (and not fake orange! real orange!) and gooey. I almost made myself sick eating as much as I did. And who knows: maybe I'll give the frozen treat another chance! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: some Mommy blog


Blockers on IMDB.




33 views0 comments

Bình luận


bottom of page