top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #219: Being Mary Tyler Moore & Mexican Popcorn

Long live MTM. Long live Mexico and its inspired flavors!


Mexican Popcorn

Dave: When I was a kid, I stayed up late to watch Nick at Nite which showed TV shows from the 1950s, 60s, and 70s before they were easily streamable and definitely before DVDs were ubiquitous. Yeah, I was that kind of dork, even as a teen. I mostly stayed up to catch I Love Lucy and Taxi, but imbibed a lot of other classic TV, including the Dick Van Dyke Show, which was my introduction to Mary Tyler Moore. Later, I added the Mary Tyler Moore Show to my late-night TV watching. I sometimes thought of myself as Mary when I was in grad school, except my apartment wasn’t quite as nice and I didn’t have my initials on the wall. But as much as I love MTM, this documentary dragged way too much. They could have cut about 25-30 minutes of fluff and still told an excellent and moving story. Still, it was a great film and a must watch if you’re at all an MTM fan. (⭐️⭐⭐️)️️️


I’m not even sure what this popcorn is called, but in our house, it’s hard to go wrong with cumin and chili powder. The pepitas were delicious on their own, but didn’t add a lot to the popcorn: they weren’t heavily spiced enough to make a difference and the slightly sweet crunch of the popcorn drowned out their subtle nuttiness. As usual, I still shoveled this popcorn in by the handful, even if I think we’ve had better recipes using these flavors. (️️️️⭐️⭐⭐️⭐️)


Joe: Confession: before I married Dave, I had never seen The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Another confession: I had no idea what she had done beyond her eponymous show. In my defense, as a child, I wasn't really allowed to watch much television. When I did have the "privilege", I gravitated to more modern shows (think OG Full House). Anyway, this documentary was eye-opening, and turned me into a full-on MTM stan. She held herself with grace and poise, and her smile truly was magnetic. However, I wish there was a little more focus on her interior life. She kept herself well guarded, but I really did want to know what drove her... beyond the surface-level unpacking of her parents' icy approach to child-rearing. (⭐️⭐⭐️⭐)


This recipe has been lingering in our queue for years now, and I honestly think it was the pepitas that kept us from making it. They weren't readily available in northwest Ohio, but now we live near a co-op (of course we do), so I picked up some pumpkin seed from the bulk section. Many of you know that I'm not the chef in the family, but reader: I roasted them and they came out great. Tossed with hot pepper sauce and butter and a smattering of spices and herbs, the popcorn was delicious. Add to that the pepitas, and it moved into scrumptious territory. Next time, though, I think I'd roast the pumpkin seeds with the spices. Stay tuned for that experiment. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Note: Our friend Chris (hi, Chris!) joined us this evening. It's rare that we have a guest, so it was a treat. He texted these ratings earlier this evening:

Movie ⭐⭐⭐

Popcorn ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Company ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Board





35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page