top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #224: Saltburn & Old Fashioned Molasses "Caramel" Popcorn

Barry Keoghan has... gifts.

Old Fashioned Molasses "Caramel" Popcorn

Dave: For everything this movie tackles - the excesses of the rich, the classism of the rich, the rich [redacted by Joe because Dave put a spoiler here] - it revels in the trappings of the wealthy. The manor house is practically a character in the movie, as are the wealthy folks’ costumes, while the butlers and servants are barely footnotes. Add to all that the fact that every single person in the film feels slimy, duplicitous, and untrustworthy, and the entire experience simply feels hollow, like listening to a presentation by any of the Trumps on ethics. The entire film comes away feeling vapid and inconsequential. (️️⭐️⭐️1/2)


This was another “damn, I forgot to buy any popcorn ingredients” recipe, when I looked around our house and thought: we have a whole lot of molasses. I’d love to say that I came up with this recipe on my own, but a quick google of molasses popcorn turned up several variations on caramel corn that had decent reviews. I even threw in some pecans for a bit of extra body. As I was making it, though, the caramel mixture got incredibly dark very quickly and I worried we’d be eating burnt sugar caramel corn, which sounds far less appetizing. Regardless, it ended up tasting great, it crisped up beautifully, and wasn’t terribly difficult. It’s definitely a recipe I’d make for a party or for company! (️️️️️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: This is one of those films that's best going in blind, if only to gape at the sheer audacity of it. To that end, I shall say very little of the plot. I'm quite surprised that Saltburn garnered middling reviews. The acting was pretty damn impressive. I could watch Rosamund Pike play a blithely dismissive upper crust British matriarch for daaaaaayyysss. The art direction and cinematography was stunning - especially the tracking shots. And the script... well, the script was... fucking wild. It has twists, it has turns, and it's weird for the sake of being weird. But I'll be damned if it didn't have me in the palm of its hands for the full running time. Thanks to our friends Chris and Steph for emphatically saying, days apart from each other, "You have to do Saltburn for your next movie night!" And extra thanks to Steph for letting us use her Amazon Prime account. Suck it, Jeffrey Bezos. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Fun fact: molasses is probably my favorite form of sugar. I think I've written that on these pages before, but after 224 entries, it's kinda hard to keep track of what I've previously blathered on about. I love molasses. And this popcorn, with its kettle corn-like crunch and earthy pecans, is a dream. The molasses and caramel pooled into delicious chewy semi-burned globs that just about sent me into the stratosphere. I've had a lot of favorite sweet popcorns in the past couple years (when I realized I might actually like sweet popcorns), but this one is, by far, my favorite. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Food.com


Saltburn on IMDB.




99 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page