top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #26: The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas & Tropical Popcorn

"Hard Candy Christmas" meets candy popcorn.

Tropical Popcorn

For the umpteenth time, we swear we do not discuss the films as we watch them, and we write our reviews on our phones before merging them into a single document. It continues to freak us out how eerily similar our reviews can be.


Dave: Watching this movie is like finding an old cordless phone or your AOL account from high school and thinking, "Gosh, that's what we used to do?" Despite not aging well - who makes movie musicals with huge production numbers anymore? - it's a cute, worthwhile film. There was humor that was a good bit raunchier than I expected, along with some amazing Dolly Parton outfits, a thin (!) Dom DeLuise, a brilliant singing, dancing Texas governor, and a chorus of prostitutes singing "Hard Candy Christmas" in three part harmony. It was a solid, campy, fun romp through early 1980s sensibilities and hairstyles. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)

So I have a pretty enormous sweet tooth and I'm excited we are finally getting to the sweet, rather than savory, popcorn. That said, this was good but not great - I'd rather have just eaten the dried pineapple, powdered sugar, and coconut by itself. It was good, but probably not worth making again. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Joe: If you know me, you know that my fascination with Dolly runs deep. Dave took me to Dollywood for my 39th birthday, for gods sake. If you know Dave, you know his fascination with camp runs deep. Mercifully, The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas marries our two fascinations. Truthfully: this film is far better than it has any right to be. I laughed uproariously many times - especially at the governor - and I swear it had nothing to do with the rum I was drinking. Dolly is fabulous, Burt Reynolds is a stone cold fox, and I finally know where "Hard Candy Christmas" debuted. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I'm a sucker for coconut, and I will eat it indiscriminately. That goes for pineapple, too. So clearly tropical popcorn should be my jam. You'd think. But this popcorn was merely good. It has a somewhat kettlecorny taste with occasional bursts of tropical flavor. But honestly, after awhile, I was purely interested in scooping the toasted coconut out of the bottom of the bowl and ignoring the rest. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page