top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #39: Ghostbusters (2016) and Peanut Butter Banana Popcorn

Updated: Feb 24, 2019

In which we get slimed by peanut butter.

Peanut Butter Banana Popcorn

Dave: I really wanted to love this movie. The leads are all amazing: Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig are usually so funny it should be illegal, Kate McKinnon is whip smart and has great timing, and Leslie Jones is flat out hilarious. But they’re all so funny when they’re doing stand up or sketch comedy - this movie was so scripted that they all seem hemmed in. Poor Kate McKinnon has about three funny lines the entire time; the rest of the time she’s yammering on (mostly to herself) about proton ionizer delta gamma beta rays. This Ghostbusters fell too much in the shadow of the earlier ones - the writers made all the new characters giant weird blow up dolls of their man-Ghostbusters analogues. They might’ve just been wearing neon signs saying “I’m Dan Akroyd!” or “I’m that smart one.” On the plus side, the cameos are amazing and there are some absolutely hilarious scenes. I just wish they’d really made this a new female ghostbusters rather than a bunch of women trying to seem like the guys we all remember. (⭐️⭐️)

As sweet popcorns go, this one wasn’t bad. Yes, it was kind of cloying, but the peanuts and the banana chips give it some extra textural oomph. I added a wee bit more salt than the recipe called for and made sure to use good peanut butter, not that cheap stuff. The result was a sweet popcorn that we ate almost a whole recipe of. Also, I went through 4 Wet Ones while I ate and there’s probably still some peanut butter in my beard somewhere. But it was worth it. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Though decried by many nerds as, among other things, “man-hating” (just read the vile spew on IMDB), the reboot of Ghostbusters is guilty of really only one thing: a surfeit of stale ideas. Four of the funniest modern comedians in the principal leads can’t bring this movie to anything more than pure candy. Yes, the movie is funny - even hilarious in some sequences. Sure, the special effects are great. True, Chris Hemsworth is a walking wet dream. But there’s nothing that improves on the original. And let’s not pretend the original is some unimpeachable Hollywood masterpiece. It, too, was pure candy. I enjoyed myself, but that’s it. The cameos in the reboot are super-satisfying, though. Especially Annie Potts. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Surprisingly, this is the second sweet popcorn in a row that I’ve truly liked, though it suffers from the same issues the others did. In addition to being ridiculously sugary, it’s just Too Much. I honestly feel like I’m writing this while on some inglorious sugar rush. Even though Dave halved the recipe, I ate too much. It’s definitely tasty... just not something I need to experience in moderation. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page