top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #46: GLOW & Strawberry Popcorn

Updated: Feb 23, 2019

Day-Glo popcorn meets GLOW.

Strawberry Popcorn

Dave: Who’d have thought I would get a little weepy over a documentary about women’s wrestling? But here I am, wiping my eyes after watching clips from their reunion and seeing the genuine affection and love the cast had for each other, and seeing the awful physical problems many of them had later. But watching a woman body slam someone only to find out that she’s now a real estate agent, or she’s had a knee replacement, or she still films wrestling instructional videos -it’s fascinating and engrossing. Bonus points for all the clips from the show with the big hair, glitter, and neon spandex. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Well, freeze dried strawberries crushed up on popcorn is at least better than some of the earlier recipes - I’d eat this again before crushing up veggie chips or ramen noodles on my popcorn. Despite being maybe the most colorful popcorn we’ve had, it’s only mediocre in the flavor department. It’s nothing special. We did finish the entire bowl before they’d even finished hiring all the GLOW girls on the documentary, though, so maybe it’s not all bad. (⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I was obsessed with GLOW as a kid. I particularly remember the summers of ‘88 and ‘89 being GLOW-heavy. The documentary, like the show, is low-budget and campy, but it has a lot of heart. A lot. There could’ve been more depth - more attention on the characters (what’s Dementia up to?) and a more satisfying narrative arc, but it was refreshingly unacademic and enjoyable as a whole. Also I might’ve cried a little. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Long-time readers will note that, in the nearly two years we’ve embarked on this project, there have been no sweet popcorns that I’ve loved. I have indeed tolerated some. But I have loved none. That changed tonight. Strawberry popcorns is the shit. Just the right amount of sweet (powdered sugar!) and tangy (freeze-dried berries!) with the perfect amount of butter. I could eat an entire bowl, no problem. Definitely a keeper. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page