top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #67: Oceans Eight and Cinnamon Sugar Popcorn

Updated: Feb 24, 2019

Fashion, sass, and popcorn that tastes suspiciously like breakfast cereal.

Cinnamon Sugar Popcorn

Dave: This was like a live action issue of Vogue - the costumes were amazing. And a special shout out to Sandra Bullock always wearing those long, flowing capes. The casting was brilliant, though Joe said partway through that this movie was made for gay men. Perhaps it was: Anne Hathaway was flawless, Rihanna was solid, Sarah Paulson was flinty, and Awkwafina should just star in everything. It warms my heart to see women getting away with a bank heist, and sending up the art world’s ridiculous vacuousness was a bonus. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Cinnamon sugar popcorn tasted like Cinnamon Toast Crunch for adults. It was sweet, salty, crunchy, and delicious. If Joe pretends not to like it, don’t believe him: I watched him scrape tablespoons of cinnamon sugar out of the bottom of the bowl with my own eyes. He devoured this popcorn. And, TBH, so did I. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)

Joe: Loves Sandra Bullock. Loves Cate Blanchett. Loves Sarah Paulson. Loves Mindy Kahling. Loves Ri-Ri. Loves Anne Hathaway. Loves HBC. Loves Awkwafina. Loves this movie. Seriously, I don’t know why this film got middling reviews. Oceans 8 was made for me: fashion and sass and fierce women and turn-your-brain-off fun. I was in heaven. I lost count of the number of times I snapped at the screen and crowed, “Yaaaas!” I also had had a couple drinks. You do the math. But I really enjoyed this flick. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

Loves cinnamon toast. Loves this popcorn. Yaaaaas. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Party Popcorn by Ashton Epps Swank. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page