top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #72: Catfight and Five-Spice Popcorn

In which we celebrate the vertiginous genius of Sandra Oh and brainstorm the many ways in which the popcorn glaze can be used on literally everything.

Five-Spice Popcorn

Dave: I really have no idea what I just watched. I do know that Sandra Oh is a treasure - she made an outlandish plot full of comas, decades-long grudges, and ridiculous swings of fortune believable and heartfelt. And kudos to Anne Heche and Alicia Silverstone for finding the hilarity in a dark, dark film. Watching Catfight was like watching Fargo or Whatever Happened to Baby Jane. You know you shouldn’t laugh, but you still do. I thought I was getting a lighthearted film that would wrap up like an after school special, but I ended up with something far grittier and less easy to giggle at over your second (or third) cocktail. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Whatever the hell went on this popcorn, we need to put it on everything immediately. It would work on chicken, beef, dirt clods - the whole nine yards. This was an irresistible pairing of salty and sweet that I’d eat on just about anything, and would certainly eat on popcorn again. I damn near licked the bowl clean! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Sandra Oh is no slouch, and she meets her match in Catfight, because Anne Heche (you guys! Anne! Heche!) brings her A-game in this one-on-one teardown. The riches-to-rags/rags-to-riches comedy is darker than dark and explores some pretty intense themes: the loss of a child and revenge as motivator being just two of them. The violence is pretty brutal - at one point both a wrench and a hammer are used as foreign objects - and the moral coda is suitably gray. But the acting is uniformly all-in: even Alicia Silverstone (you guys! Alicia! Silverstone!) proves she's more than a 90s teen queen. The film is bleak but funny, though you have to dig deep to find the meaning. I couldn't tear my eyes away, even though I can safely say I didn't love it. But I'd definitely watch it again - if only to uncover the deeper layers. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Here's the gospel truth, friends. If you want to try some Dave & Joe Popcorn solids, look no further than the website from which we've culled the last few recipes. Whilst making the glaze for this popcorn, I just about fell into an intoxicating Coma of Smells - it's heady, this recipe. While the popcorn was baking, I said to Dave, "If it's tasty, we might want to try this glaze on chicken." It's more than tasty. I could have eaten bowl after bowl of this popcorn, largely thanks to the mixture, which manages to be salty and spicy and sweet all at the same time. This is a recipe we will likely visit again and again and again. Holy crap, it was delicious. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn Recipes by Popcorn.org. (The Popcorn Board, 2019).



34 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page