top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #81: The Spy Who Dumped Me and Chipotle Ranch Popcorn

#twinning, per yoosh.

Chipotle Ranch Popcorn (Dave forgot to take a photo before we devoured it.)

Dave: Sometimes you just need a ridiculous action movie. The Spy Who Dumped Me was campy, hilarious, and completely mindless. The plot was flimsy, the characters were as thin as wallpaper paste, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was glad to see Kate McKinnon getting a role that lets her be as zany and unpredictable as she is on SNL. Sadly, like the other Kate McKinnon films we’ve watched, she’s still the sidekick and those parts fit her as well as socks on a rooster. Mila Kunis was funny, don’t get me wrong, but I want to see Kate McKinnon take the lead and get the guy next time. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2) 


We don’t go out to eat much, but we cook fancy-ish meals at home a lot: lots of local veggies, fresh herbs, and olive oil. We’re like Rachael Ray without the dog food. That said, I do have a soft spot in my heart for ranch dressing mix. Combine it with garlic and chipotle? I’m powerless. We had a giant bowl of this popcorn, finished it before Mila Kunis stopped trusting her stupid spy boyfriend, and thought REALLY hard about making a second batch. Alas, we did not and the world is that much worse for it, even if it did have enough sodium in it to stun an ox. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Kate McKinnon presents an interesting challenge for me: is the film/television show/Saturday Night Live sketch funny because it's funny or is it funny because Kate McKinnon is in it? I might go to my grave struggling with that very question. The Spy Who Dumped Me is not high art, and if you go into it thinking it'll be a brilliant send-up on the James Bond genre, you will be woefully let down. If you go into it think it'll be dumb as shit and unforgivably entertaining then you very well may enjoy it. I'm in the latter camp. But then again, I'd watch Kate McKinnon stare blankly at a camera for two hours and I'd absolutely watch Mila Kunis read the dictionary for two hours. All this is to say this film was right up my alley. It was funny and action-packed and dumb as a box of rocks. The perfect brainless comedown to a busy week at work. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


We had finished this bowl of popcorn ten minutes into the movie, and there was still some of the herby mix left at the bottom. "We should make another batch of popcorn and toss it in the leftovers!" I crowed at Dave. He didn't take me seriously. I was absolutely serious. But we didn't make a second batch and now I am sad. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn.org. (The Popcorn Board, 2019).



53 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page