top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #83: Big Business and Everything but the Kitchen Sink Popcorn

We both use 'shenanigans' to describe the movie and we both had way different takes on the popcorn.

Everything but the Kitchen Sink popcorn

Dave: This movie was so 1980s, it made me feel like putting on a slap bracelet, listening to a Whitney Houston cassette in my Walkman and doing cocaine. The big hair, the spoof-y, crazy comedic shenanigans, and the power pop soundtrack were a complete throwback. But the film isn’t a complete throwaway - Bette Midler is campy and fantastic, and Lily Tomlin actually tries to find some humanity and character in her role. Plus, there’s a gay yuppie lawyer couple that isn’t just one big gay joke. I might not watch it again, but it was fun once. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2) 


I went back to our old standby popcorn cookbook for this recipe because we had some vanilla melting candy to use up. Since the recipe had the melting candy, chocolate chips, and crumbled chocolate chip cookies, I assumed it would be so sweet we’d go into a diabetic coma immediately. Instead, the salt in the mixed nuts (probably several cups of it) balanced everything else out. I wouldn’t eat more than half a bowl, but it didn’t make my cheeks flush like so many of our other super-sugary sweet popcorns. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: I was obsessed with this movie when I was in 5th grade. In fact, I was obsessed with every Bette Midler film from the 80s: Ruthless People, Outrageous Fortune, Beaches... Honestly, people, couple this with Madonna, Cyndi Lauper, & Tina Turner, and I was literally giving my parents every clue known to man. Putting on a tiara wouldn't have made it any more obvious. ANYWAY. I've not seen this movie since the late 80s, and I remembered zero plot points... which isn't saying much, considering the plot is slight. This is mostly a platform for ridiculous shenanigans. All this is to say, it was wonderful fluff, and I'd watch Bette Midler eat a ham sandwich. I'd also watch Lily Tomlin eat a ham sandwich. So. Very little has changed since 5th grade. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Historically, the formula has gone: me + sweet popcorn = puking emoji. Tonight, the formula is: me + this popcorn = ascending into the heavens emoji. This is literally the best sweet popcorn we've ever made. It was absolutely magical. Friends, I'm about to drop an unbelievable number of stars on this bad boy: (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Party Popcorn by Ashton Epps Swank. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014).



40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page