top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #89: Greta and Cranberry & Chocolate Spiced Popcorn

Huppert is excellent as a sociopath, and pumpkin seeds are excellent at adding nothing of interest to a popcorn.

Cranberry and Chocolate Spiced Popcorn

Dave: This movie was at once predictable and horrifyingly, gut-wrenchingly surprising. The trope of someone taking advantage of the too-trusting girl new to the big city, the kindly-seeming wicked witch living just down the block, and the movie villain who just won’t die all played out at once. Even though we more or less knew what would happen, the insanely audacious way in which it plays out was enough to make me pull the covers over my head several times. Isabelle Huppert is terrifying as the big city wicked witch in this film because she is so believable, even as her character does more and more outrageous things. Chloe Grace Moretz as the hapless victim was a little too close to a wet dishrag for my taste. All the same, I’m definitely more wary of my neighbors after seeing this horrifying film about the banality of sociopathy. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I love sweet popcorn, but here the popcorn just got in the way of the good stuff. I’d have gladly eaten spiced, dark chocolate-covered dried cranberries til the cows came home, even if the popcorn added a nice crunch. The addition of toasted pumpkin seeds was ridiculous and unnecessary - they added no flavor and that almost-stale texture that no one wants. Still, I love the cinnamon/nutmeg/dark chocolate combo and think it has legs, just not for popcorn. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: I'd read that Greta was pretty damned bonkers, and it's safe to say it is. Both Moretz and Huppert bring their A-games, particularly Huppert, whose veneer of vulnerability is impressive. Moretz's wide-eyed ingénue act is a nice foil, and helps garner some sympathy for her character - especially during some tense sequences. Although there are some nail-biting moments in the film (one involves a dog, which was extremely unnerving for me), I spent more time marveling at how nice the apartments were than marveling at how the film would resolve itself. And that resolution? Not great. Still, an enjoyable film if you can suspend your disbelief for 100 minutes. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


Dave announced yesterday that he was making a sweet popcorn, and I tried every trick in my passive-aggressive book to get him to make a savory one instead. That backfired because he decided his back-up popcorn would also be sweet. I might have pouted for a bit. Anyway, this popcorn follows the trend of The Popcorn Board's sweet popcorns. It was actually pretty decent. I only ate a few handfuls, but I wouldn't smack it out of someone's hand if they put it in front of me. Ostensibly, there are pumpkin seeds in the mix, but I didn't taste them. I just tasted chocolate. And popcorn. (⭐️⭐️⭐)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn.org. (The Popcorn Board, 2019).



35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page