top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #93: Babe and Bacon & Cheese Popcorn

A blast of feelgood to mitigate the feelbad.

Bacon & Cheese Popcorn

Dave: Maybe I didn’t have the requisite warm and fuzzy childhood memories, but this felt cute but saccharine to me. Sure, the pig triumphing and not becoming sausage gravy was heartwarming, but the plot felt thin even for a kids movie. Also, I think the cat should have played a bigger role in the plot and not been typecast as an evil, vain nuisance. #notallcats Still, the animals were adorable and an unadulterated happy ending was just what I needed tonight (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️) It felt horribly wrong to be eating a popcorn with bacon - even bacon bits - while watching Babe, a film about a pig who manages not to become bacon. And to top it off, the popcorn wasn’t that fulfilling. Sure, the Parmesan was salty and delicious, but the bacon bits and liquid smoke made it taste more like a crunchy forest fire than a delicious snack (⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Babe was one of my very favorite films back in the day, and it's been about twenty years since I've seen it. We were going to do a double feature of this and its sequel (which I saw in the theaters but haven't seen since), but we're too tired to watch three hours of television. Anyway, this was just as wonderful as I remembered - and I remembered a lot. Like, whole portions of dialogue. This was just the antidote I needed for a couple days that were just full-blown panic. Sweet, heartwarming, and a balm for the soul. Maybe we'll watch the sequel tomorrow! (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


We've been on an Eating Health kick recently, but today seemed like a good day to say "fuck it" and this was the popcorn to do it. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor, but the gobs of bacon and cheese at the bottom of the bowl was pretty damn delicious. (⭐️⭐⭐)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn.org. (The Popcorn Board, 2019).



49 views0 comments

Bình luận


bottom of page