top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #98: Little and Spicy Cajun Popcorn and Nuts

We love #blackgirlmagic but we don't love this popcorn.

Spicy Cajun Popcorn and Nuts

Dave: The “main character had to learn An Important Lesson from their past” plot was a little trite, most characters lacked names, much less backstory, and the “corporation” at the center of the story was one of those fake things where people just sit around and make up “content” all day. But Little had heart and a great cast to make up for its flaws. Issa Rae was magic and brought dimension and depth to an otherwise lifeless character. Marsai Martin, as the company tyrant-turned-middle schooler, was brilliant - she delivered adult, smutty, and darkly funny lines so you really believed she wasn’t a child! It’s sad Regina Hall got stuck with a tiny, thankless role, but she did what she could with it. The soundtrack and costumes were incredible, though. (⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2)


This popcorn was not spicy, as advertised, nor did it taste like much of anything. The peanuts didn’t seem to add much of anything to the overall experience besides confusion and bewilderment. However, since we’re not keeping snacks in the house during the pandemic, I managed to eat roughly 2/3 of the giant bowl that Joe made. In quarantine terms, this was a solid five stars, but in Normal Life I’d probably just give it (⭐️⭐️1/2)


Joe: Let's state the obvious first: Marsai Martin, who plays the "little" Jordan, is priceless. Her comedic timing belies her age, and she nails just about every scene she's in. Let's address Issa Rae: I've stanned since her days doing "ratchet" on YouTube (which I think were all taken down once she achieved a modicum of fame). Let's address the film: um. It was... ok? There's a lot of mixed messages going on. Like, if you buy cool clothes and make snappy Instagram photos then you'll achieve popularity but also maybe still be bullied? The theme seems to be that money is apparently the Almighty God, which falls into Tone Deaf Territory, especially as we're rocketing into a recession and the 1% are getting even wealthier. Maybe I should turn my brain off and just enjoy the movie for all its ridiculousness. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


I overcompensated whilst making this popcorn. I erroneously thought I had made enough popcorn but had somehow over-spiced it. So I popped more popcorn, didn't adjust the spices, and ended up watering it down. The popcorn somehow became too buttery and also bland, which is a weird and unflattering combination. If we make this again (if), I will make sure to bring the spices forward. I promise I'm not a Karen. I like spice more than mayonnaise. Anyway, we washed this down with a tall glass of disinfectant, a joke that I hope is still funny in the coming days. I've had a couple servings of rum. Goodnight! (⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: Popcorn.org



29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page