top of page
Writer's picturethenerderymovienight

The Nerdery Movie Night #116: The Babysitter: Killer Queen and Dilly Lemon Munch Popcorn

Somehow, despite not consulting each other before submitting our reviews, Dave and I both write that the movie is 20 minutes too long and admit to devouring the popcorn before the first kill. #nerderymindmeld

Dilly Lemon Munch Popcorn

Dave: This sequel was slick - it had lots of token Millennial jokes, lots of self-aware horror trope gags, and a reflexive "we know how trashy this is" vibe. But still, I'm not sure this movie topped - or even came close - to the original. I loved the backstory and the completely gratuitously bloody death scenes, but the movie was about 20 minutes too long and had a few too many subplots to be truly satisfying. Still, it was a great follow-up to a really enjoyable horror flick, and just what I needed after a long week (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Who knew popcorn could be tasty without copious amounts of butter? I know I say that every time I like a popcorn without butter, but I feel like I mean it even more this time! Even with just dill and salt and lemon juice, we gobbled this down before the first gory killing happened in the film. I may cheat and "forget" we made this later just so we can have it again - it was that good. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Joe: For those of you who've followed this lil blog for awhile, you may recall we watched the first Babysitter almost a year ago. It's wild to think that 78 (78!!!) Nerdery Movie Nights have happened since that viewing. When Dave and I heard on Wait Wait Don't Tell Me that Helen Hong was going to be in the second installment of this franchise, we both reacted to the same two things: 1.) There's another Babysitter coming out?! Yay! and 2.) "omg Helen Hong!" Unfortunately, if you blink, you'll miss Helen Hong. Fortunately, Babysitter: Killer Queen follows its predecessor in over-the-top gore that's as hilarious as it is horrifying. Unfortunately, Killer Queen is about twenty minutes too long and lacks the punch of the first. McG's frenetic camera work and Tarantino-lite supercuts simultaneously delight and irritate, and the dialog straddles a thin line between indulgence and cleverness. Still, if you want to turn your brain off and watch people die in amusing and graphic ways, this is right up your alley. I, for one, look forward to a third installment. (⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Dill may be the most underrated herb - methinks few truly appreciate how delicious it is. I could eat handfuls of the stuff. Combined with lemon and a dash of salt, dill can enhance any filet of fish. And friends, I'm here to tell you, that same combination also elevates the humble popcorn. Ignore the idiotic name the Popcorn Board bequeathed upon this dish. This is more than "dilly munch". It's dilly-icious (kill me now). We gobbled up the entire bowl before the first throat was slit. (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)


Popcorn recipe from: The Popcorn Board



41 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page